The Funky Lowlives ‎– Somewhere Else Is Here

Outer ‎– OR1CD
CD, Album, Digipak


1 Sail Into The Sun 5:04
2 Time To Let You Go 4:51
3 Superlove 4:45
4 For Her Eyes 4:08
5 'Til I Left The Music 5:40
6 You Have To Come With Me 4:55
7 Float Through Stars 4:12
8 Time Traveller Man 3:53
9 Another Place 4:29
10 Here Is Somewhere Else 5:29

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 680178040123
  • Barcode (scanned): 6801780401230

Other Versions (3 of 3) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
OR1CDP The Funky Lowlives Somewhere Else Is Here(CD, Album, Promo) Outer OR1CDP UK 2005 Sell This Version
HN274CD The Funky Lowlives Somewhere Else Is Here(CD, Album + CD, Comp) High Note Records HN274CD Taiwan 2005 Sell This Version
MOD 003-2 The Funky Lowlives Somewhere Else Is Here(CD, Album, Dig) Modernsoul MOD 003-2 Germany 2005 Sell This Version



Add Review



March 9, 2007
edited over 10 years ago

On previous albums, the Funky Lowlives have explored Latin beats, R&B downtempo, and funky breaks. On SOMEWHERE ELSE IS HERE, they go in a new direction altogether: folk rock. "Sail into the Sun" and "Float Through Stars" have a hazy hippie vibe that evokes verdant fields of daisies. "You Have to Come With Me" has a sense of spacious grandeur to it, while "Time Traveller Man" has an ineffable air of melancholy. There's also a sense of schizophrenia on here as well -- as much as they embrace their new folk leanings, they can't totally escape from their earlier works. The Latin influence on "Another Place is unmistakable, while the vibe-heavy "'Til I Left the Music" sits uneasily with the album as a whole. But "Time To Let You Go," one of my favorite tracks, they merge a simple acoustic guitar with a clicky rhythm and some soaring strings -- a blending of styles that works beautifully.