Gate (3) ‎– The Dew Line

MIE Music ‎– MIE 010
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Remastered

Companies, etc.


Tracks A3, B2, and D1 to D3 are bonus tracks from Michael Morley's "extensive collection of unreleased tracks from the original recording period", not found on the Table of the Elements CD edition.
A3 'Sunshine' and B2 'Ives' are from Sunshine / Ives 7" (Twisted Village, 1992).
D2 'Bitcher' is probably related to the track of the same name on The Dead C's White House album (Siltbreeze, 1995).
D3 'Tuba Is Funny' is probably related to the track 'Tuba Is Funny (Slight Return) on The Dead C's self-titled album on Language Recordings (2000).
D1 'Sadness Sings' shares its name with a 2007 artwork by Morley (here, scroll down to "Artefact/Object/Craftwork") currently in the collection of Dunedin Public Art Gallery.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (A stamped): 98484E1/A
  • Matrix / Runout (B stamped): 98484E2/A
  • Matrix / Runout (C stamped): 98484E3/C
  • Matrix / Runout (D stamped): 98484E4/B

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All



Add Review



November 9, 2014

"A reissue of the 1993 The Dew Line album from New Zealand guitar patriarch MICHAEL MORLEY (DEAD C), and the first part of his "rock trilogy" that includes 1996s Monolake and 1999s The Wisher Table. Typical Gate/Dead C no-fi guitar subduction and locked-in-the-car-trunk vocals are prominent, but theres also a hefty amount of scraping synthesizer menace and Paleozoic riffage. The crust of noise is there, but crack open the sonic geode and youll discover some nifty song styling as well. An anti-rock classic. Expanded and remastered with five previously unreleased bonus tracks. Edition of 500 copies." - MIE.