Gene Clark ‎– Gene Clark Sings For You

Omnivore Recordings ‎– OVCD-280
CD, Album, Mono


Gene Clark Sings For You
1 On Her Own 4:19
2 Past Tense 3:41
3 Yesterday, Am I Right 2:56
4 Past My Door 4:26
5 That's Alright By Me 5:48
6 One Way Road 2:34
7 Down On The Pier 4:18
8 7:30 Mode 5:59
The Rose Garden Acetate
9 On Tenth Street 3:50
10 Understand Me Too 2:36
11 A Long Time 2:03
12 Big City Girl 3:56
13 Doctor Doctor 2:59
The Rose Garden Demo
14 Till Today 3:44

Companies, etc.



Digipak with clear tray and illustrated tray-liner + 12-page booklet with notes, pic and credits.

On back cover:
℗ 2018 Gene Clark Music, Inc., under exclusive license to Omnivore Recordings.
© 2018 Omnivore Recordings.

On booklet:
Tracks 1 to 8 recorded late 1967 Larabee Studios, West Hollywood, CA, and Gold Star Studios, Hollywood, CA
Tracks 9 to 13 recorded 1967 Location and musicians unknown

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 8 16651 01289 3
  • Matrix / Runout: (1024572) 4.4.101289.SA.1 01 0001
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L247
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI KKAY

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All



Add Review



June 15, 2018

To say that Gene Clark is an enigma would be an understatement, a powerful but hidden member of The Byrds, and after the Byrds crashed and burned, Clark’s solo career was sporadic at best.

Yes, certainly he was deeply influenced by Dylan, and that aspect can be heard here, yet with his personal poetic lyrics and distinctively harmonic vocals commercial success would allude him, relegating him to small clubs, never finding solid ground in one of the many super-groups that rose out of the splintered ashes of other 60’s icons. All of that being said, this outing was created in order to secure a recording contract for the his new outing, Gene Clark with The Gosdin Brothers, and there’s no denying that the songs are rather rough, yet even so, there’s sweet magic to be found here, where once fleshed out, have the ability to rock with the likes of Neil Young, David Crosby, or even Stephen Stills.

No, these eight tracks do not make for a formal album by any means, yet in that there remains a charm to these numbers, giving an insider's view into a starting point for Clark and his new project.

If one were to look at this collection as some long lost folk-rock album from the mid 60’s, it would have been embraced as a resounding success, yet it’s right here right now … so take it for what it is or what it could be, and go enjoy yourself.

Review by Jenell Kesler