General Midi ‎– Midi-Style

Distinct'ive Records ‎– DISNCD156
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Statement Of Intent 4:24
2 Good To Go 4:24
3 Rock This Place 5:14
4 Turn It Loud
Vocals – MC Chickaboo
5 On The Run 5:14
6 A Recording 4:47
7 Jason Calling 0:53
8 Shadow 4:48
9 Tell Me What You Want
Vocals – Miss Bryony Blue
10 The Eastoner 5:23
11 Rattle Ya Cage
Vocals – The Rev John E Vistic
12 Never Gonna Stop The Show 4:48
13 The Westerner 5:52

Companies, etc.



℗ 2005 Distinct'ive. © 2005 Distinct'ive.
Distributed by Amato. Made in the EU.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 8 81824 07832 7
  • Rights Society: MCPS
  • Matrix / Runout: DISNCD156 SP 83984 01
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LV81
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI KA06

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
DISNCDP156 General Midi Midi Style(CD, Album, Promo) Distinct'ive Records DISNCDP156 UK 2005 Sell This Version



Add Review



November 9, 2005
edited over 12 years ago
"Midi Style" is a huge piece of work soaked with an eclectic, old school flavour of electro breakbeat - from arguably one of the industries most respected producers. Pounding beats and in your face vocals intertwine with a cacophony of old skool synth sounds to produce an addictive and intriguing debut.

With a little help from collaborators MC Jakes and MC Chickaboo, "Midi Style" is an album with a whole lot of attitude, an ingredient often overlooked by today's breakbeat intelligentsia.

The opening track, 'Statement of Intent' sees MC Jakes spell out the General Midi manifesto and assure the listener of what they can expect, and not one to be pigeon holed General Midi incorporates many sounds into his production.
'Rock This Place' sees some old skool flavas, MC Chickaboo joins General Midi on his Ragga-tipped 'Turn It Loud' and some body popping electro type behaviour is employed on 'Tell Me What You Want'. A little something for everyone.

General Midi pushes a multitude of sonics that help provide the eclectic edge to 'Midi Style'. Big beats, clever vocals and a super-tight production are all helped along by artists MC Jakes, MC Chickaboo and Miss Bryony Blue - giving a personal but complete stamp to the Midi flavour and sound.

Enjoy !