Gentle Giant ‎– Live In Santa Monica 1975

Glass House Records ‎– GLASS109CD
CD, Album, Repress


1 Cogs In Cogs
2 Proclamation
3 Experience
4 So Sincere
5 Advent Of Panurge
6 For Nobody #1
7 For Nobody #2

Companies, etc.



Since the indicates Key Production and a Key Production release exists, this is a repress of Live In Santa Monica 1975.

Jewel case with 4 page booklet

Recorded in Santa Monica, California 1st January 1975, except tracks 6 & 7, recorded at the Electric Ballroom, Dallas, Texas, 19th March 1977.

Liner notes are taken from a November 25, 1972 SOUNDS article, which is obviously approx. 2-3 years before these 1975 recordings. The article mentions that Derek Shuman (sic) and his bothers Phillip (sic) and Ray being "at present" in the band. Phil Shulman left the band around the time this 1972 article was printed.

There isn't a list of band members (apart from the liner notes taken from 1972) or instruments played for this release.

"MADE IN ENGLAND" on CD label and back insert.

Notes from Santa Monica Freeway:
Tracks 1-5 are reportedly from Santa Monica, California, January 1, 1975. However, are actually from a Capitol Studios recording session on February 13, 1975, according to Alan Kinsman, who says, "on January 1, 1975, GG were all at home in the UK, some of them no doubt recovering from the excesses of New Year parties!"
Tracks 6-7 are from Electric Ballroom, Dallas, March 19, 1977, reportedly played during a soundcheck

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 6 04388 65192 4
  • Matrix / Runout: KEYGLASS109CD 01
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LY33
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI AEW22



Add Review



December 11, 2016
As can be expected from live recordings from the seventies this is not too great sound quality. At least it is a soundboard recording - after all Glasshouse Records is an English 'official' label. But the live delivery is awesome as usual - so set your equaliser and try to amend the deficits ....