Glass Prism ‎– On Joy And Sorrow

RCA Victor ‎– LSP-4270
Vinyl, LP, Album


A1 She's Too Much (Lay Your Body Down) 4:07
A2 Extention 68 2:14
A3 What Can We Do 2:31
A4 Who Loves Me 2:25
A5 Nothin's Wrong Song 2:44
B1 Maggie Don't You Hear Me 3:50
B2 She (On Joy And Sorrow) 2:27
B3 I Want To Play 1:55
B4 Here You Are 3:06
B5 Reneé 2:02
B6 I Laugh 3:22

Companies, etc.



Public performance clearance-BMI
Recorded in RCA's Studio C, New York City.
Photographed at Fabulous Fakes, New York, N.Y.
A Marble Arch, Inc. Production > a production company of Gene Weiss and Mort Lewis with only one act: Glass Prism.
Released with printed company inner
There exist at least two different production variation of the label, one with a small pressing ring, one with a deep groove, see images.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Rights Society: BMI
  • Matrix / Runout (Printed matrix side A): (XPRS-7254)
  • Matrix / Runout (Printed matrix side B): (XPRS-7255)
  • Matrix / Runout (Var.1 Stamped side A - version with small cirle on the label): XPRS-7254--1 S
  • Matrix / Runout (Var.1 Stamped side B - version with small cirle on the label): XPRS-7255--2 S
  • Matrix / Runout (Var.2 Stamped side A - version with small cirle on the label / AIB engraved): XPRS-7254--2/S AIB
  • Matrix / Runout (Var.2 Stamped side B - version with small cirle on the label / AIC engraved): XPRS-7255--1 S - AIC
  • Matrix / Runout (Var.3 Stamped side A - version with deep groove at the label): XPRS-7254--3 S
  • Matrix / Runout (Var.3 Stamped side B - version with deep groove at the label): XPRS-7255--3 S


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



August 1, 2013
edited over 4 years ago

A great piece of gloomy psychedelia with tight, precise playing. This is a more mature effort than their debut. That being said, the songs on this album were written and recorded in less than a week, according to guitarist Tom Verano.

Standout tracks include she's too much, Extension 68, she (on joy and sorrow) and here you are.


December 15, 2012

Here's another album that I really meant to review a long time ago. Having not played this for awhile, I thought I'd sit back and give a listen once again.

Upon the raising of the tonearm, I've come to the conclusion that what we have here is decent psychedelic rock and nothing more. Though admittedly this effort is much more enjoyable than their first LP, based on what I recall anyways. Imagine a good bar band (just given a recording contract) going through the motions, and that pretty much sums it up.
What might set these guys apart from the average bar band of that period is the opening cut titled "She's Too Much (Lay Your Body Down)". This sets the ball in motion, and in my opinion is the highlight of this album. There's some really nice reoccurring fuzzed-out lead guitar soloing here. Had the rest of this album lived up to to the album opener, I may have been inclined to rate it higher. Truthfully, I was very close to giving this a 2.5, but each time that fuzz guitar raised its head (which wasn't often enough in my opinion) my interests were piqued.

Glass Prism had a sound much like other bands of this era, while falling a tad short on what some of those bands had to offer; The Human Beinz, Damnation Of Adam Blessing, SRC, The Illusion, Lost Nation, Yellow Payges, etc.
Nice use of the Hammond organ and fuzz guitars. Overall, the musicianship is fairly tight, though at times some of the arrangements border on cheese, aided by the semi-pop vocals (see "There's Nothing Wrong" and "She").
So apart from the odd cheesy cliche here and there, this album rocks fairly steadily for the most part.