Gonjasufi ‎– A Sufi And A Killer

Warp Records ‎– WARPCD172
CD, Album, Digipak


1 Untitled 0:56
2 Kobwebz 2:13
3 Ancestors 2:37
4 Sheep 4:04
5 She Gone 2:46
6 SuzieQ 1:45
7 Stardustin' 1:05
8 Kowboyz&Indians 2:44
9 Change 2:05
10 Duet 3:06
11 Candylane 2:07
12 Holidays 3:58
13 Love Of Reign 2:40
14 Advice 2:45
15 Klowds 3:28
16 Ageing 2:42
17 DedNd 3:38
18 I've Given 3:36
19.1 Made 3:20
19.2 Dobermins 2:25

Companies, etc.



Mastered at Metropolis.

Made in The EU

Barcode on spine without numbers.

Last track "Made" finishes at around 3:20 and has a "hidden" track "Dobermins" that starts at around 8:20

℗ 2009 Warp Records Limited.
© 2009 Warp Records Limited.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Scanned): 801061017224
  • Matrix / Runout: CA WARPCD172P @ 12/15/09 01:09:08 PM
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L039
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 1262
  • Label Code: LC02070

Other Versions (5 of 7) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
WARPCD172 Gonjasufi A Sufi And A Killer(CD, Album, Dig) Warp Records WARPCD172 Europe 2010 Sell This Version
WARPLP172 Gonjasufi A Sufi And A Killer(2xLP, Album) Warp Records WARPLP172 UK 2010 Sell This Version
WARPCD172 GonjaSufi A Sufi And A Killer(CD, Album) Warp Records WARPCD172 UK 2010 Sell This Version
WARPLP172R Gonjasufi A Sufi And A Killer(2xLP, Album, RE) Warp Records WARPLP172R UK 2016 Sell This Version
WARPCD172 GonjaSufi A Sufi And A Killer(CD, Album, Promo) Warp Records WARPCD172 UK 2010 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 5 Reviews

Add Review



January 28, 2015
I want the vinyl!! This album is incredible!!


October 31, 2014
Cracked and dust-blown psychedelia. Half-heard melodies that bear repeated listening, only becoming clear after several plays.
Really inventive song-writing and production. An album that gets better and better with time. A masterpiece / total classic from start to finish.


October 28, 2011

Indian-inspired psychedelia from Gonjasufi, whose debut, A SUFI AND A KILLER, is drenched in dub and guitar effects. "Kobwebz," despite its spelling, invokes a slow caravan across the Gobi ("Ageing" takes the same country-western track, though with a bit more twang), while "Ancestors" benefits from Flying Lotus' abstract hip-hop beats. Then, to provide contrast, comes the sleazy listening of "Sheep" which ends on a rocking note. Sumach Valentine's vocals are often processed to the point of being harsh, but they fit with the general lo-fi vibe. The eclecticism keeps on coming: the aggressive electric guitars of the brief "Suzie Q"; the funk groove of "Kowboyz & Indians"; the warm, crackling soul of "Change"; the disco sweetness of "Candylane"; the sparse digitalia of "Holidays." "Duet" shares a sampled riff with Broadway Project's "Born Spirit" -- again showing how it's not the sample that makes a track. The breaks and sadness of "Advice" rumbles with a dark energy, and the Indian influence (in the form of a sitar) makes a reappearance on "Klowds." Unique and fascinating stuff.


October 9, 2011
What becomes apparent right away is Sumach Ecks' nonchalant execution and approach to music. His falsetto distorted vocals filtered through 60s psychedelia and lo-fi dub smoke, are at the heart of every song structure of each confident track. Mix into that the exquisite production by the one and only [mother-flippin] Gaslamp Killer, and you have a hit, that even with its peculiar sound, a label such as Warp is willing to back. First hearing Gonjasufi on Flying Lotus' Los Angeles (who described this sufi's voice as "timeless, incredible filfth"), I was almost sure that it was a sampled track from one of those dusty records found in a random garage sale somewhere between San Diego and Las Vegas. Imagine my surprise when I finally connected the dots! On this record, the duo (with a little help from FlyLo on "Ancestors" and Jon Ancheta as Mainframe on four tracks) clearly demonstrates that a great record can stand out all on its own, independent from the year, style, or the overly-produced sound one hears these days. In fact, I challenge you to attempt and replicate the sound of A Sufi And A Killer! From acid infused rock to influences from the pre-hip-hop era, the album strokes your inner mental child into a trippy daydream where the lyrics are as haunting as the ghost of Woodstock beats. Mind penetrating "She Gone", "Kowboyz And Indians", and an absolutely wonderful "Sheep", stay in your head long after the record has stopped playing. Really dug this debut, and I am looking forward to more output from the duo. Check out a remix album, The Caliph's Tea Party (Warp, 20010) featuring reworks of the tracks by the likes of Mark Pritchard, Bibio, Broadcast, and many other Warp favorites...