Gordon Jenkins ‎– Complete Manhattan Tower

Capitol Records ‎– DT-766
Vinyl, LP, Album, Duophonic


A1 The Magical City
A2 Happiness Cocktail
A3 I'm Learnin' My Latin
A4 Once Upon A Dream
A5 Never Leave Me
A6 This Close To The Dawn
A7 Repeat After Me
B1 Repeat After Me (Reprise)
B2 The Magic Fire
B3 Married I Can Always Get
B4 The Statue Of Liberty
B5 The Party
B6 New York's My Home
B7 Closing

Companies, etc.



This is the first pressing of DT-766 on the 1959-61 "white line" label. Capitol began releasing Duophonic versions in June of 1961.

Not a re-issue, but a thorough re-recording of Manhattan Tower, with compositions added to the original score by Gordon Jenkins for release on Capitol on a full 12" lp.
This "Complete Manhattan Tower" and the Decca Manhattan Tower recording on Manhattan Tower and Manhattan Tower / California (The Golden State) are distinguishable.

Capitol states that "Duophonic"is technically not stereo, but rather is an exclusive Capitol technical development designed to enrich monophonic "hi-fi" performances that are irreplaceable.

The original inner sleeve is the Capitol "Songs Without Words" Contest, with details and three entry blanks (which "must be received on or before February 15, 1962"). [see images]

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A label): DT1-766
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B label): DT2-766
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout, stamped): DT-1-766-D2 ˝ [Scranton lathe]
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout, stamped): DT-2-766-N1 [Scranton lathe]