Gordon Lightfoot ‎– Did She Mention My Name - Back Here On Earth

Bear Family Records ‎– BCD 15699 AH
CD, Album, Compilation


1 Did She Mention My Name 2:32
2 Wherefore And Why 2:52
3 The Last Time I Saw Her 5:15
4 Black Day In July 4:14
5 May I 2:21
6 Magnificent Outpouring 2:24
7 Does Your Mother Know 3:37
8 The Mountains And Maryann 3:39
9 Pussywillows, Cat-Tails 2:52
10 I Want To Hear It From You 2:27
11 Something Very Special 3:23
12 Boss Man 2:13
13 Long Way Back Home 3:19
14 Unsettled Ways 1:56
15 Long Thin Dawn 3:01
16 Bitter Green 2:47
17 The Circle Is Small 3:36
18 Marie Christine 2:55
19 Cold Hands From New York 5:15
20 Affair On 8th Avenue 3:39
21 Don't Beat Me Down 3:21
22 The Gypsy 2:51
23 If I Could 4:18
24 Spin, Spin (New York Remake Version) 2:44

Companies, etc.



The spine gives the catalog number as BCD 15699, whereas the back of the tray card and booklet list BCD 15699 AH. The CD gives it as BCD 15 699 AH. Artist credit on cover, spine and disc is simply Lightfoot. The front cover and inside booklet are the only places the "Plus" is appended to the release's title. The packaging does not reproduce any artwork elements from the album "Did She Mention My Name". Cover photo is from "Back Here on Earth" and the poem that appeared on the back cover of that album is included in booklet.

As the credits indicate, Larry Walsh remixed from original 4-track tapes for this release. This results in some songs appearing in longer/unedited form for the first time (Long Way Back Home, The Circle Is Small.)

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 4 000127 156990
  • Label Code: LC 5197
  • SPARS Code: AAD
  • Rights Society: GEMA


Add Review



February 25, 2018
Contrary to popular belief, the version of "Spin, Spin" here is not the version that appeared on the single. This is a vastly different (and, in my opinion, superior) take. The actual single take remains MIA on LP or CD.
Sound quality is great and it's kinda cool to hear some of the songs in unedited form. However, if you can live without a few extra seconds of intros and so forth and you're not obsessive about different mixes or an outtake, this won't replace disc two of The Original Lightfoot: The United Artists Years or The United Artists Collection. Either of those sets new would cost less than this single disc.