Green Velvet ‎– The Nineties (1993 A.D. Through 1999 A.D.)

Music Man Records ‎– MMCD 005, Music Man Records ‎– 541416 500283
CD, Compilation


1 Flash 7:10
2 Answering Machine 4:48
3 The Red Light 4:38
4 Land Of The Lost 4:08
5 The Stalker 6:26
6 Coitus (RMX) 5:26
7 Thoughts 5:02
8 Leave My Body 5:08
9 Water Molecule 7:02
10 Help Me 9:27
11 Destination Unknown 9:11
12 Preacherman 8:21

Companies, etc.



Tracks 2, 3, 4, 5, 8 and 10 are edits of the original releases.
Track 12: Contains an extract of a sermon performed by Reverend C.L. Franklin (Uncredited).

Published by Cajual Music except tracks 3, 6, 7 & 9 by Curtis A. Jones Music.

℗&© 1999 NEWS
Made in the Netherlands.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 5 414165 002833
  • Barcode (Scanned): 5414165002833
  • Matrix / Runout: DOCdata Benelux NEWS541416500283
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LJ81
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 3613
  • Rights Society: SABAM



Add Review



November 10, 2007

Whether you're a Green Velvet fan or not, this collection contains at least three tunes which made history. "Flash", according to me is still his finest work to date, with a still today relevant and enjoyable story, and hardly ever outdone percussion wizardry! Every once in a while it still pops up in DJ sets and gets the people crazy.
"Stalker" follows in a similar way, with a funny story, but it's the groovy bass line that snatches the crown here. This one is a Carl Cox favorite, as I remember he used it to great effect in a lot of his gigs I've been to. It's a crowd mover for sure, and I don't even mind it sounding heavily dated either.
"Help Me" and "Destination Unknown" are two longer, kind of harsher and more hypnotizing tracks, especially the latter, with a harder kick, is also one of the rare numbers where Green Velvet does not play around with any vocals.
An honorable mention would go to "Answering Machine" and "Preacherman", with really great voice placement and ideas! Especially "Preacherman" which to my pleasant surprise skillfully incorporates excerpts from a sermon over a house beat, and creates a rather entertaining, but preachy tune. A fine release, not for everybody's taste, but essential for the Chicago house fans.