Gregory Fleckner Quintet ‎– Monkey Boots

Clear ‎– CLR419 cd
CD, Album


1 Arctic Roll 3:01
2 Sumes 8:25
3 By The Cringe 6:03
4 EDP Blues 10:34
5 Wah Sissus 3:24
6 Juicy Jazz Girls 6:58
7 How Much Would Conkers Cost? 11:15
8 Oi That's My Bird 6:13
9 Hold Me Close 3:14
10 Rupe Rumpshifter 7:46

Companies, etc.



℗ 1995 Clear
© 1995 Clear

Distributed in the UK + beyond by RTM/Disc. Made in London, England.

This was released without a cover/booklet - instead "Gregory Fleckner Quintet" is screen-printed on the front of the clear cd jewel case in white stylized script.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5021904023228
  • Matrix / Runout: MADE IN THE U.K. BY PDO CLR419CD 10387061 01 %
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L132
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 0416

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All



Add Review



April 26, 2013

MONKEY BOOTS was the Gregory Fleckner Quintet's only album, but its brand of electronic weirdo jazz still stands out today. The bass shuffle of "Arctic Roll" hints at what comes next: the resonant beat and synthh squelches of "Sumes." "By The Cringe," on the other hand, kicks off mimicking easy-listening exotica before moving onto its own thing. A sense of cheeky fun pervades the album: "EDP Blues" is more woozy than bluesy, while "Juicy Jazz Girls" exists in its own strange, wobbly world before accelerating wildly halfway through. The shifting "How Much Would Conkers Cost?" keeps a steady stride while glowering into the distance, and "Oi That's My Bird" kicks off with a looped vocal riff that shuffles itself along. All good fun.