Grupo Niche ‎– Me Huele A Matrimonio

Zeida ‎– 298 21061
Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Me Huele A Matrimonio
A2 Un Caso Social
A3 Bendita Seas
A4 Tongolele
B1 Ese Día
B2 Para Mi Negra Un Son
B3 La Trampa
B4 La Rata Chillona
Piano [Solo] – Nicolás Cristancho "Macabí"*Trombone [Solo] – Alberto Barros

Companies, etc.



Although Alí Garcés is credited as sax/flute player, he's actually not present in this recording. No saxophone and/or flute can be heard in this album (either solo or as a part of the wind ensemble).

The bass parts for this album were recorded by Francisco García using a bass guitar. Baby (electric upright) bass appeared way later in Niche discography.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side A): 298.21061.Y. David
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side B): 298.21061.Z.



Add Review



March 8, 2014
This is certainly not the most popular album from Grupo Niche, but to me it ranks among the best (if not THE best) because, aside from great songs like "Ese Día" and "Un Caso Social", it's the perfect middle point between the rawness of their previous releases and the highly polished production values of their later works. Up to this point, every Niche album sounds as a live band, and this one if the apex of that approach. After "Me Huele A Matrimonio", Niche gradually started sounding as a studio band, with increasingly polished and slicker-sounding albums. What you hear here is an extremely powerful Salsa band playing very well-crafted arrangements. Although the alto sax player that appeared in their previous albums is still credited here, an all-brass wind section (two trumpets and two trombones - no sax) was actually recorded. This is also the debut album from lead singer Tito Gómez, which became one of the most recognizable voices in Niche catalog.

If you are looking for the most popular album from Grupo Niche, go for "Cielo De Tambores" (which is also great) without a doubt. But if you want to experience this band at the peak of its power as a "live in the studio" ensemble, this is the #1 Niche album in that regard.