Gus Gus* ‎– Forever

Pineapple Records (2) ‎– PINECD003
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Degeneration
Written-By – Birgir Thorarinsson
2 You'll Never Change
Guitar – Omar Gudjonsson*Vocals – Earth (3)Written-By – West*, Schofield*
3 Hold You
Backing Vocals – Aaron-Carl, Pall Oskar Hjalmtyrsson*Vocals – Earth (3)Written-By – Birgir Thorarinsson, Stephan Stephensen, Urdur Hakonardottir*
4 Need In Me
Backing Vocals – Pall Oskar Hjalmtyrsson*Vocals – Earth (3)Written-By – Birgir Thorarinsson, Stephan Stephensen, Urdur Hakonardottir*
5 Lust
Written-By – Birgir Thorarinsson
6 Forever
Guitar – Veiran*, President BongoVoice [Be Very Welcome Words] – Ottarr Proppe*Written-By – Birgir Thorarinsson, Stephan Stephensen
7 If You Don't Jump (You're English)
Percussion [Special Power Hi Hat Performance] – Helgi Svavar HelgasonVocals – President BongoWritten-By – Birgir Thorarinsson, Stephan Stephensen
8 Sweet Smoke
Backing Vocals – President BongoVocals – Earth (3)Written-By – Birgir Thorarinsson, Stephan Stephensen, Urdur Hakonardottir*
9 Porn
Written-By – Birgir Thorarinsson, Magnus Gudmundsson (2)
10 Demo 54
Written-By – Birgir Thorarinsson
11 Moss
Vocals – Daniel Agust*Vocals [Voice Tape Delay] – Biggi Bix*Written-By – Daniel Agust Haraldsson*
12 Mallflowers
Written-By – Birgir Thorarinsson

Companies, etc.


  • ArtworkGusGus, Linda Loeskow
  • ManagementGreat Stuff GmbH
  • Mastered ByVeiran*
  • Other [Hair] – Jon Atli "Hairdoctor" Helgason
  • Other [Make Up] – Gudbjorg Huldis
  • Other [Styling] – Hrafnhildur Gudrunardottir
  • Photography ByAri Magg
  • Producer, Mixed ByGusGus


Tracks 6 and 7 are switched on the inside sleeve.

Track 7: Guitar Sample taken from "Augun Uti" (Googooplex, 1982) by Purrkurr Pillnikk.

℗©Pineapple Records 2007

Published by Universal Publishing except
Track 2 published by Warner Chappell
Tracks 6 & 11 published by STEF/NBC & Universal Publishing

Packaging: 8 panel digipak

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Printed): 673797 000326
  • Label Code: LC09244
  • Rights Society: N©B
  • Matrix / Runout: manufactured by optimal media production A677353-01
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L572
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 9712

Other Versions (5 of 9) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ANGLO019 Gus Gus* Forever(CD, Album, Promo) UltraPop (2) ANGLO019 Argentina 2007 Sell This Version
none Gus Gus* Forever(CDr, Album, Promo) Pineapple Records (2) none Europe 2007 Sell This Version
PINECD003 Gus Gus* Forever(CD, Album, Unofficial) Pineapple Records (6) PINECD003 Russia 2007 Sell This Version
PINECD003 Gus Gus* Forever(CD, Album) Pineapple Records (2) PINECD003 Iceland 2007 Sell This Version
GENGHISCD001 Gus Gus* Forever(CD, Album + CD, Comp + Spe) Gung Ho! Recordings, Pineapple Records (2) GENGHISCD001 UK 2007 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



April 20, 2017
This my all time favorite and I love and have everything by them but this record with the bonus material is their best work ever!


April 3, 2008

Something happens in Gus Gus' transition from a 9-person collective to a threesome. The eclectic funky mix that appeared on their 4AD evaporated, and they became just another electro band. On their 4th album, _Forever_, they attempt to recapture some of the magic by blending their electro leaning into other genres, whether the R&B of "You'll Never Change" or the Chicago house of "Hold You." Many of the intrumental tracks, however, fail to take hold of the imagination, including the title track, which attempts some acid manuevering, but without real impact. Mr. Scruff's "Sweet Smoke" gets namechecked here, but the original still stands above. "Porn" goes deeper and succeeds for it, but with the original line up, the tracks -- even the long jams -- had a sense that anything could happen. Not so much anymore. "Demo 54" mines the same lines over again. It's not that these tracks are bad, by any means, but you do wonder where they could have gone. Listen to Daniel Agust's return with "Moss," and you'll hear the difference immediately. Indeed, "Mallflowers" sounds as if it came from the old T-World days. Though it's a little early to start indulging in late 90s nostalgia, in this one case, I'll allow it.