Gustav Mahler ‎– Great Men Of Music

Time Life Records ‎– STL 553
4 × Vinyl, LP
Box Set, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

Symphony No. 1 In D Major
Conductor – Bernard HaitinkOrchestra – Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam*
A1 First Movement: Langsam. Schleppend (Slow, Dragging) 16:23
A2 Second Movement: Kräftig Bewegt (Moving Forcefully) 8:00
B1 Third Movement: Feierlich Und Gemessen, Ohne Zu Schleppen (Solemn And Measured, But Not Dragging) 11:25
B2 Fourth Movement: Stürmisch Bewegt (Stormily Agitated) 20:25
Symphony No. 5 In C Sharp Minor (1,2,3)
Conductor – Herbert von KarajanOrchestra – Berlin Phiharmonic Orchestra*
C1 First Movement: Trauermarsch (Funeral March) 12:56
C2 Second Movement: Stürmisch Bewegt (Stormily Agitated) 15:00
D Third Movement: Scherzo 17:58
E1 Fourth Movement: Adagietto 11:51
E2 Fifth Movement: Rondo-Finale 15:565
Conductor – Herbert von KarajanContralto Vocals – Christa LudwigOrchestra – Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra*
F1 Nun Will Die Sonn'so Hell Aufgeh'n 6:10
F2 Nun Seh'ich Wohl, Warum Do Dunkle Flammen 5:41
F3 Wenn Dein Mutterlein 5:04
F4 Oft Denk'ich, Sie Sind Nur Ausgegangen! 3:24
F5 In Diesem Wetter, In Diesem Braus 5:34
Das Lied Von Der Erde
Conductor – Bernard HaitinkMezzo-soprano Vocals – Janet BakerOrchestra – Concertgebouw Orchestra, Amsterdam*Tenor Vocals – James King (3)
G1 First Movement: Das Trinklied Vom Jammer 8:14
G2 Second Movement: Der Einsame Im Herbst 10:26
G3 Third Movement: Von Der Jugend 3:07
G4 Fourth Movement: Von Der Schönheit 7:31
H1 Fifth Movement: Der Trunkene Im Fruhling 4:25
H2 Sixth Movement: Der Abschied 31:07

Companies, etc.



All labels state "MADE IN HOLLAND". The booklet says Typesetting was performed in England and the Booklet was Printed and Bound in Belgium.
Comes with a 24 page colour booklet containing a bigraphy and Track Notes.
The booklet text is in English only, label text is in German.
From the booklet:
- © 1975 Time-Life Books Inc.
- English Language Printing, 1982

Disc 1, Catalogue Number STL 553-1, has the Philips label.
Disc 2, Catalogue Number STL 553-2, has the Deutsche Grammophon label.
Disc 3, Catalogue Number STL 553-3, has the Deutsche Grammophon label.
Disc 4, Catalogue Number STL 553-4, has the Philips label.
Tracks on each disc are taken from the respective Philips or Deutsche Grammophon catalogues.

Booklet written by Frederic V. Grunfeld (French)

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Other (Catalogue Number, Disc 1): STL 553-1
  • Other (Catalogue Number, Disc 2): STL 553-2
  • Other (Catalogue Number, Disc 3): STL 553-3
  • Other (Catalogue Number, Disc 4): STL 553-4

Other Versions (4 of 4) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
STL 553, STL 553-1, STL 553-2, STL 553-3, STL 553- Gustav Mahler Grosse Meister Der Musik(Box + 4xLP, Comp) Time Life Musik, Philips, Deutsche Grammophon, Deutsche Grammophon, Philips STL 553, STL 553-1, STL 553-2, STL 553-3, STL 553- Germany 1979 Sell This Version
STL 553 Gustav Mahler Great Men Of Music(4xLP, Comp + Box) Time Life Records STL 553 US 1976 Sell This Version
STL 553 Gustav Mahler Les Grands Maîtres De La Musique(4xLP + Box, Comp) Time Life Records STL 553 France 1984 Sell This Version
STL 553-1/2/3/4 01 Gustav Mahler Maitres De La Musique (Great Men Of Music)(4xLP + Box, Comp) Time Life STL 553-1/2/3/4 01 Netherlands 1971 Sell This Version