Guy ‎– Guy

MCA Records ‎– MCAD-42176
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Groove Me
Mixed By – Timmy Regisford
2 Teddy's Jam 3:30
3 Don't Clap ... Just Dance
Mixed By – Timmy Regisford
4 You Can Call Me Crazy 3:59
5 Piece Of My Love 5:21
6 I Like 4:50
7 'Round And 'Round (Merry Go 'Round Of Love) 4:07
8 Spend The Night 4:23
9 Goodbye Love 4:55
10 My Business 3:50

Companies, etc.



℗ & © 1988 MCA Records, Inc.

Made in U.S.A.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 0 7674-22176-2 4
  • Barcode (UPC/String): 076742217624
  • Matrix / Runout: MCAD42176 S9124E
  • Rights Society: ASCAP/BMI
  • Other (SPARS Code): ADD

Other Versions (5 of 13) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
MCA-22176 Guy Guy(LP, Album) MCA Records MCA-22176 US 1988 Sell This Version
MCG 6043 Guy Guy(LP, Album) MCA Records MCG 6043 UK 1988 Sell This Version
MCAC-42176 Guy Guy(Cass, Album) MCA Records, Uptown Records MCAC-42176 US 1988 Sell This Version
22P2-2712,22P2-2713 Guy Guy(CD, Album) MCA Records 22P2-2712,22P2-2713 Japan 1988 Sell This Version
MCAD-42176 Guy Guy(CD, Album, Ltd, Lon) MCA Records MCAD-42176 US 1988 Sell This Version



Add Review



November 27, 2004
edited over 12 years ago

This could just as easily be called "New Jack Swing's Greatest Hits," or at least it could be the first CD in a set with that title, as five of the tracks on "Guy" were (and still are) staples of U.S. R&B and Rhythm Crossover radio stations in the late Eighties. "I Like," "'Round And 'Round (Merry Go 'Round Of Love)," "Teddy's Jam," "Spend The Night" and of course the monster R&B, club, and top 40 crossover hit "Groove Me" all helped to define what New Jack Swing was and was going to be - and helped to define the Hip Hop sound of today. Doesn't matter what flava of Hip Hop you listen to today - hell, you can even include top 40 radio - it wouldn't be the way it sounds today without this album having first paved the way. Classic.