Halo Svevo ‎– Halo Who?

S-Meta Tapes ‎– SMT002
Cassette, Album, Limited Edition, C60

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 The Chase 3:19
A2 Schizophrenie 3:53
A3 Azemblage 2:34
A4 Gewalt 4:18
A5 New Wave 1:13
A6 A Bed Of Roses 2:57
A7 (What Are The) Ingredients 3:00
A8 Quarreling Powers 5:25
A9 Absolument 2:00
B1 Carbon 14 4:08
B2 Paradise City 4:58
B3 A Silent World 4:28
B4 Macbeth 3:35
B5 The Ice Queen 3:30
B6 Gewitter
Lyrics By – Schwitters*
B7 La Vie 1:11
B8 Maison Marocaine 3:41
B9 Play Me An Elegy 2:14


Add Review



May 22, 2012
Are you prejudiced towards 'unknowns' on unheard-of labels? I didn’t think I was, but looking back I prejudged this as something cheap, something amateurish.
No Way! From the first fusillade of electro-dance drums, I was hooked - by third track I was a HALO SVEVO junkie. 18 tracks in all - a fix for all seasons!

It's an album full of pleasant surprises - rich, well-constructed music which varies in style so much it could almost pass for a compilation tape - from FRONT 242 to mid-Eighties CABARET VOLTAIRE, from OMD, to GILBERT & LEWIS, and none of it sounds forced, contrived. The musicianship is excellent throughout, almost faultless with deceptively simplistic tunes. The closest people I could compare the overall sound to is HE SAID, the splinter group from WIRE, although these can probably thump out music with a lot more teeth than G. LEWIS’s ‘group' do.

The vocalist will become a focal point - with a tone lying somewhere between BOWIE & PETE MURPHY, with the gravel of ADI NEWTON, or a smoothed-out WILLIAM BURROUGHS.

I predict a positive future for these guys - they should now release onto vinyl or CD to show any Doubting Thomases they mean it. If you like Electronic music, and want a change from FRONTLINE ASSEMBLY & FRONT 242, refresh yourself at the rich Oasis of HALO SVEVO, where surprises are around every corner.

Originally reviewed for Soft Watch.