Hanne Hukkelberg ‎– Rykestrasse 68

Nettwerk ‎– 5 037703 069602
CD, Album, Enhanced

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Berlin
Acoustic Guitar – Henning*Choir, Percussion [Wurlitzer Legs] – Hanne*Cymbal – Erland*Guitar [Tea Strainer], Synthesizer [Music Box] – Bjørn*Saxophone, Bass Clarinet – Jørgen*Vibraphone [Vibraphonette], Synthesizer [Solina] – Kåre*
2 A Cheater's Armoury
Bass, Double Bass, Slide Guitar – Henning*Brass – Lonely Hearts Marching BandCello – Yngvil*Drums, Percussion – Erland*, Peter*Flute – Lena*Handclaps, Finger Snaps, Electric Guitar, Guitar [Nylon String] – Kåre*Handclaps, Guitar [Nylon String], Synthesizer [Solina], Piano, Glockenspiel, Finger Snaps – Hanne*
3 The Pirate
Accordion, Mandolin, Cymbal, Organ [Optigan], Piano – Kåre*Cello – Yngvil*Double Bass – Henning*Drums – Erland*Piano, Percussion [Chandelier, Metal Can, Kettles], Bass Drum – Hanne*
4 Fourteen
Cymbal, Xylophone, Other [Music Box] – Peter*Double Bass, Steel Guitar [Lap] – Henning*Guitar – Bjørn*Percussion [Ball, Knife, Radio, Bottle, Table, Money, Bicycle Wheel], Flute [Alto], Synthesizer [Solina], Organ [Mellotron & Celesta] – Hanne*Synthesizer, Zither, Glockenspiel – Kåre*
5 The North Wind
Cello – Yngvil*Double Bass – Henning*Electric Bass – Thomas*Guitar [Fishing-reel, Tea Strainer] – Bjørn*Keyboards, Accordion, Vibraphone [Vibraphonette] – Kåre*Percussion, Drums – Erland*Piano [Tack], Percussion [Remington 20 Type Writer], Piano, Glockenspiel – Hanne*
6 Obelix
Double Bass – Henning*Percussion [Carriage Wheel Spokes, Egg Slicer] – Bjørn*Performer [Purring] – Obelix (4)
7 Break My Body
Acoustic Guitar, Accordion, Gong [China Gongs] – Kåre*Bass – Henning*Cello – Yngvil*Hurdy Gurdy [Processed Keyed Fiddle] – Daniel*Percussion, Drums, Piano [Tack], Flute [Alto], Human Beatbox [Mouth Rhythms], Glockenspiel – Hanne*Vocals [Additional] – Lena*
8 Ticking Bomb
Banjo, Percussion [Wooden Shoe, Cutlery, Kitchen Utensils], Piano, Handclaps – Hanne*Human Beatbox – Lena*Percussion, Banjo – Bjørn*Piano [Tack] – Liv*Synthesizer, Glockenspiel, Guitar, Percussion [Trash Can] – Kåre*
9 Pynt
Bass Clarinet – Lars*Flute – Lena*Keyboards – Hanne*Organ [Optigan, Celesta], Glockenspiel – Kåre*
Bonus Tracks
10 Searching (Live)
Bass – Henning*Drums – Peter*Glockenspiel – Lena*Keyboards, Vocals – Kåre*Recorded By – Asle KarstadVocals, Percussion [Bicycle Spokes] – Hanne*
Video A Cheater's Armoury
Film Director [Video Created By] – Andreas Paleologos

Companies, etc.



Recorded and mixed at Propeller Music Division.
Additional recordings at Bruket.

Track 8 contains excerpts from Johan Sebastian Bach's 'Preludium in C Minor' from 'Das Wohltemperierte Klavier (The Well-Tempered Clavier)'.

"A Cheater's Armoury" video created by Andreas Paleologos at Studio Palegolas.

Issued in a Digipak.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 5 037703 069602
  • Barcode (Scanned): 5037703069602
  • Matrix / Runout: SP 30696_0
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LP76
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 7305
  • Label Code: LC 11269

Other Versions (4 of 4) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
PRR 07 Hanne Hukkelberg Rykestraße 68(CD, Album, Enh) Propeller Recordings PRR 07 Norway 2006 Sell This Version
PRR 07 Hanne Hukkelberg Rykestraße 68(9xFile, FLAC, Album) Propeller Recordings PRR 07 Norway 2006
0 6700 30696 0 1 Hanne Hukkelberg Rykestraße 68(CD, Album, Enh, Bon) Nettwerk 0 6700 30696 0 1 Canada 2008 Sell This Version
3069602 Hanne Hukkelberg Rykestrasse 68(CD, Album, Enh) Nettwerk 3069602 Australia 2007 Sell This Version



Add Review



November 11, 2011

Hanne Hukkelberg's second album, RYKESTRAßE 68, begins with her delicate vocals over a gentle strum on "Berlin," not a far stretch from what her first album offered. The suggestions of flamenco fire up "A Cheater's Armoury" and shares the space with the swing of the chorus. Her aquatic leanings almost make a reappearance on "The Pirate," a slightly creepy piece that makes a detour into a haunted bordello. The use of a typewriter as percussion on "The North Wind" makes for a rather inspired choice, while "Ticking Bomb" uses a kick drum and places some banjoed Bach over it. Though Hukkelberg's vocals are mostly quiet (she even switches back into her native tongue for "Pynt"), when she goes for a full-throated singing, as on "Break My Body," it's a sonic brick to the ear. A worthy successor to the still-stunning LITTLE THINGS.