Hans Zimmer ‎– Black Hawk Down (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Decca ‎– 017 012-2 DH, Decca ‎– 017 012-2, UMG Soundtracks ‎– 017 012-2
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Hunger
Vocals – Baaba Maal
2 Barra Barra
Performer – Rachid TahaWritten-By – Rachid Taha, Steve Hillage
3 Vale Of Plenty 2:28
4 Chant 2:33
5 Still 4:48
6 Mogadishu Blues 2:53
7 Synchrotone 8:55
8 Bakara 3:12
9 Of The Earth 2:19
10 Ashes To Ashes 4:43
11 Gortoz A Ran - J'Attends
Performer – Denez Prigent, Lisa GerrardWritten-By – Denez Prigent
12 Tribal War 2:39
13 Leave No Man Behind 6:18
14 Minstrel Boy (Film Version)
Arranged By – Joe Strummer, Martin Slattery, Richard Flack, Scott Shields, Tymon DoggPerformer – Joe Strummer And The Mescaleros*Producer – Joe Strummer, Martin Slattery, Richard Flack, Scott Shields
15 Still Reprise 2:12

Companies, etc.



Score recorded at Media Ventures, Santa Monica, CA and Sony Studios.
Orchestra recorded at Sony Pictures Studios, Culver City.
Music production services provided by Media Ventures, Santa Monica, CA.
Score published by JR Motion Picture Music Company, admin. by Sony/ATV Tunes.

Track 2 Published by Delabel Editions; Chrysalis Music. Rachid Taha appears courtesy of Mondo Melodia/Barclay ℗ 2000 Barclay.

Track 11 Published by Denez Prigent. Courtesy of Barclay France. Under license from Universal Music Enterprises ℗ 2000 Universal Music S.A. Division Barclay.

Track 14 Published by Beacon Communications Music Corp. Joe Strummer and The Mescaleros appear courtesy of Hellcat Records ℗ Revolution Central Productions LLC.

Baaba Maal appears courtesy of Palm Pictures, Limited.

Motion Picture Photography © 2001 Revolution Studios Distribution Company LLC and Jerry Bruckheimer, Inc.
Motion Picture Artwork © 2001 Columbia Pictures Industries, Inc.
This compilation ℗ & © 2001 Universal Classics Group, a Division of UMG Recordings, Inc.
Distributed by Decca Music Group Limited, London, England.
Made in Germany.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 0 44001 70122 1
  • Label Code: LC 00171
  • Rights Society: BIEM/MCPS
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): 00440 017 012-3 01 + 51239632
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): 00440 017 012-2 01 + 51239632
  • Matrix / Runout (Credit in inner ring): MADE IN GERMANY BY UNIVERSAL M & L
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1 & 2): IFPI L002
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 0134
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 0132



Add Review



March 24, 2017

Hans Zimmer often presents his movie scores in noticeably rearranged suites when it comes to the soundtrack album, but Black Hawk Down is probably the most significantly different compared to its movie counterpart. Zimmer was pushed for time on this production and the album was sort of rushed out. Lasting a mere 66 minutes there is maybe 30 minutes worth of decent music here while the rest of it is messy, panic-stricken noise that matches the stressful and edgy feel to the film and echoes the horrors of war and of the Mogadishu battle. Tracks like Still, it's reprise, and the nervous, alienating sounds of Ashes to Ashes are the highlights of Zimmer's effort here.

Three songs are included on the album, the aggravating Barra Barra by Rachid Taha and Steve Hillage, the passable Minstrel Boy by Joe Strummer, and the wonderfully melancholic Gortoz A Ran - J'Attends by Denez Prigent and Lisa Gerrard, a sorrowful dirge for humanity with the slightest glimmer of hope for the future. It's not Gerrard's most depressing song, but there's no denying the impact it will have on you.

I don't think this CD speaks volumes of Africa's musical culture. Zimmer did a better job of this in The Lion King, and perhaps later in Tears of the Sun. Sure there are some cues are sound unmistakably African (such as the calming 'Of The Earth') but it still feels uninspired for the most part and doesn't hold up well when separated from the movie. It's far from Zimmer's best work. But it's interesting and a worth picking up cheap.