Harry Nilsson ‎– Nilsson '62 - The Debut Sessions

CD, Album, Reissue


1 It Just Ain't Right
2 Learning From You
3 Thank Heaven For Kathy
4 My Girl
5 A Man And His Castle
6 My Baby's Coming Home
7 Once A Loser
8 Me Without You
9 Oh Caroline
10 The Only Light
11 Just Wait Till Summer Comes
12 Please Mr. Music Man
13 The Will
14 He Ain't Gonna Get My Girl
15 All For Your Love
16 The Ash Grove
17 Take This Heart
18 Foolish Clock
19 There's Gotta Be A Girl
20 Building Me Up
21 In Time
22 Nilsson's "End Of Message To Scoty"


Best remembered for RCA recordings cut in the late '60 and early '70s, wich peaked on the worldwide bit "Without You", Nilsson lifework was anthological shortly before his untimely death in 1994. What the compilers missed (and Retro can now bring you) are the first recordings Nilsson made back in 1962. These songs were cut in one session as demos for songwritter Scott Turner.
So good were the demos that a few months later Leon Russell, Herb Alpert, Hal Blaime and James Burton were brought in to add backings to some of the songs. With Nilsson's later rise to fame further backings were added each time with Nilsson's blessing and help ensuring that the performance were appropiate and sympathetic. This uniquely rare batch of material remains a fine testament to a remarkable singer at the vert start of his career.

Made in Japan

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 4 938167 005520