Hawkwind ‎– The Text Of Festival - Hawkwind Live 1970-72

Let Them Eat Vinyl ‎– LETV023LP
2 × Vinyl, LP, Purple

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Master Of The Universe
Written-By – Brock*, Turner*
A2 Dreaming
Written-By – Brock*
B1 Shouldn't Do That
Written-By – Brock*
B2 Hurry On A Sundown
Written-By – Brock*
C1 Paranoia/See It As You Really Are
Written-By – Brock*
C2 I Do It
Written-By – Brock*
D1 Improvise...Compromise...Revise
Written-By – Brock*, Hawkwind



All three versions of the 2009 Let Them Eat Vinyl release of 'Text Of Festival' make the mistake of taking their tracklisting from the earlier CD versions, and therefore miss out "Improvise...Compromise...Reprise", the side-long track that appeared as Side 4 of the original Illuminated vinyl release in 1983 (Hawkwind - The Text Of Festival - Hawkwind Live 1970-72) and on the Thunderbolt vinyl release in 1985 (Hawkwind - The Text Of Festival - Hawkwind Live 1970-72). To make matters worse, they confusingly re-name "Sound...Shouldn't...Improvise..." (the title of the original vinyl's Side 3) as "Improvise...Compromise...Revise", which is almost the same as the omitted "Improvise...Compromise...Reprise."
This is rather unfortunate as the sleevenotes by Andy Higgens particularly refer to the excellence of the music on the original Side 4, which includes "Be Yourself" from Hawkwind's first album: "This is undoubtedly the highlight of this set, but has always been previously omitted from the CD versions. It is also the only known live version available of this track". Not available however on these 2009 vinyl versions; Let Them Eat Vinyl - shame on you for this extremely shoddy release.

Other Versions (5 of 17) View All