Hawkwind ‎– Welcome To The Future

Secret Records Limited ‎– SMDCD565
2 × CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1-1 Circles
Written-By – Brock*, Lloyd-Langton*
1-2 I Am The Eye (That Looks Within)
Written-By – Davey*, Brock*, Chadwick*
1-3 Slap It On The Table
Written-By – Shaw*, Brock*, Calvert*, House*, King*
1-4 Instrumental (Intro To Reefer Madness)
Written-By – Brock*
1-5 Reefer Madness
Written-By – Brock*, Calvert*
1-6 Paradox
Written-By – Brock*
1-7 Chronoglide Skyway
Written-By – House*
1-8 Hassan I Sahba
Written-By – Rudolph*, Calvert*
1-9 Brainstorm
Written-By – Rudolph*, Calvert*
1-10 Wind Of Change
Written-By – Brock*
1-11 Instrumental (Intro To Steppenwolf)
Written-By – Brock*
1-12 Steppenwolf
Written-By – Brock*, Calvert*
1-13 Back On The Streets
Written-By – Rudolph*, Calvert*
1-14 Sonic Attack
Written-By – Moorcock*
1-15 Kerb Crawler
Written-By – Brock*, Calvert*
2-1 High Rise
Written-By – Calvert*, House*
2-2 Damnation Alley & Damnation Alley Part 2
Written-By – Brock*, Calvert*, House*
2-3 Uncle Sam's On Mars
Written-By – Brock*, Calvert*, House*, King*
2-4 Robot
Written-By – Brock*, Calvert*
2-5 Cake Out (Aka Hash Cake)
Written-By – Brock*
2-6 Over The Top
Written-By – Brock*, Calvert*
2-7 Magnu
Written-By – Brock*
2-8 Angels Of Life
Written-By – Brock*, Calvert*
2-9 Freefall
Written-By – Bainbridge*, Calvert*
2-10 Death Trap
Written-By – Brock*, Calvert*
2-11 Nuclear Toy
Vocals, Performer [All Instruments] – Dave BrockWritten-By – Brock*
2-12 Who's Gonna Win The War
Written-By – Brock*



Tracks 1-1 to 1-3 were recorded at Watchfield Festival in August 1975.
Tracks 1-4 to 1-15 were recorded on the Atomhenge tour at Colston Hall, Bristol in September 1976.
Tracks 2-1 to 2-5 were recorded on Stonehenge on 21st June 1977.
Tracks 2-6 to 2-10 were recorded as the Sonic Assassins on 24th December 1977 at the Queens Hall, Barnstaple, Devon.
2-11 was recorded in 1979, though is listed as originating from 1977.
2-12 was recorded sometime during 1977 at Rockfield Studios as the Hawklords.

Track 1-2's credits are erroneous: Alan Davey and Richard Chadwick as credited as writers, both would not join Hawkwind for another 10 and 15 years (respectively).

Track 1-9 incorrectly credits Paul Rudolph and Robert Calvert as writers. Brainstorm was actually written by Nik Turner.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 6 36551 45652 4
  • Matrix / Runout (DISC1): SMDCD565-1
  • Matrix / Runout (DISC2): SMDCD565-2
  • Mastering SID Code (DISC1): IFPI LT21
  • Mastering SID Code (DISC2): IFPI LT22

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
SHAKEBX114Z, SHAKEBX114 Hawkwind Welcome To The Future(2xCD + DVD-V, NTSC + Box) Shakedown Records, Shakedown Records SHAKEBX114Z, SHAKEBX114 UK 2003 Sell This Version



Add Review



February 2, 2012
edited over 5 years ago
Welcome To The Future; there are another two Hawkwind compilation albums with this title... the first Welcome To The Future featured live tracks from 1970-73. The second was a four-disc effort on Dressed To Kill, cat#CLP0220-2 - that collected Masters Of The Universe, Bring Me The Head Of Yuri Gagarin, Space Ritual Volume 2 and The Text Of Festival (later reissued as The Entire And Infinite Universe Of Hawkwind).

This two CD set is neither of these things, which can only work in its benefit. The first disc opens with some cuts from the 1975 Watchfield Festival, these are essentially jams or improvisations. Quality is OK, listenable, but not great - probably the same source as the track Watchfield Festival on Anthology 1967-1982.
These three tracks are followed by twelve live numbers which I'm pretty sure can also be found on the album Atomhenge 76, quality is excellent, and essential for fans of the band's 'second wind' with Robert Calvert as lead vocalist, though he doesn't seem to be on good form throughout - I think he forgets most of the words to Hassan I Sahba as he repeats the line "death unto all infidels in oil" ad-nauseum.
The first five tracks of disc two were reportedly recorded at the Stonehenge festival in 1977, like the previous tracks the quality is excellent, and - with Calvert still at the helm - could almost be from the same set as the previous twelve. The version of Cake Out here is highly superior to the version on Anthology 1967-1982.
The next four tracks are a real treat as they're all taken from the same Sonic Assassins gig from 1977; this was the infamous gig in Barnstaple where Dave Brock and Bob Calvert were joined by members of Ark, and future Hawkwind/Hawklords members Harvey Bainbridge (bass), Paul Hayles (keys) and Martin Griffin (drums).
The final two tracks are studio efforts; Nuclear Toy is performed by Dave Brock solo, and is undoubtedly the genesis for the track Nuclear Drive which would later appear on the Church Of Hawkwind LP and Who's Gonna Win The War is credited to the Hawklords.

In summary, this is a good collection of live stuff plus there's a few rarities on here that are hard to find on other compilations. It's by no means essential but is a lot better than other Hawkwind collections floating about - this one actually has Dave Brock's name on it as producer.
To add to your confusion, there is a second version of this compilation in a clamshell type case that includes a DVD with a 45 minute Dave Brock interview. I haven't seen it but it's supposed to be quite good.