Herbie Hancock ‎– Sound-System

Not On Label (Herbie Hancock) ‎– HHCOLCD 140403007
CD, Album, Reissue, Remastered, Unofficial Release

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Hardrock
Bass, Electronic Drums [DMX], Tape – Bill LaswellBata – Daniel PonceDrums [Simmons], Percussion [Sound Plates], Cuica – Anton FierGuitar – Henry Kaiser, Nicky SkopelitisProgrammed By [Fairlight CMI] – Will AlexanderProgrammed By [XMD] – Rob StevensSynthesizer [Fairlight CMI, Rhodes Chroma, Apple IIe, Yamaha DX7, Emu 4060 Digital Keyboard] – Herbie HancockTurntables – D.St*Written-By – B. Laswell*, D. Showard*, H. Hancock*
2 Metal Beat
Drums [Simmons], Percussion [Sound Plates], Cymbal, Gong – Anton FierElectronic Drums [DMX], Electronics [Shortwave] – Bill LaswellGuitar – Henry KaiserKora [Dusunguni], Balafon – Foday Musa SusoLyricon – Wayne ShorterProgrammed By [Fairlight CMI] – Will AlexanderSynthesizer [Fairlight CMI, Yamaha DX7] – Herbie HancockTalking Drum, Ghatam [Chatan], Bells – Aiyb DiengTurntables – D.St*Voice – Bernard FowlerVoice [Speaker] – Toshinori KondoWritten-By – B. Laswell*, H. Hancock*
3 Karabali
Bata, Bells, Shekere – Daniel PonceCymbal [Cymbals] – Hamid DrakePiano, Synthesizer [Fairlight CMI] – Herbie HancockProgrammed By [Fairlight CMI] – Will AlexanderSoprano Saxophone – Wayne ShorterVocals, Arranged By [Vocals] – Bernard FowlerWritten-By – D. Ponce*, H. Hancock*
4 Junku
Bass, Electronic Drums [DMX], Tape – Bill LaswellKora, Kalimba, Kora [Dusunguni] – Foday Musa SusoPiano, Synthesizer [Fairlight CMI, Yamaha DX 7, Rhodes Chroma, Memorymoog] – Herbie HancockProgrammed By [Praxis Processing, XMD] – Rob StevensTalking Drum, Ghatam [Chatan], Percussion [Don Don], Cowbell – Aïyb Dieng*Written By – A. Dieng*, B. Laswell*Written-By – F.M. Suso*, H. Hancock*
5 People Are Changing
Electronic Drums [TR-808], Wood Block, Percussion – Anton FierPiano, Synthesizer [Yamaha DX7] – Herbie HancockVocals, Arranged By [Vocals] – Bernard FowlerWritten-By – T. Thomas*
6 Sound-System
Bass, Electronic Drums [DMX] – Bill LaswellCymbal [Cymbals] – Hamid DrakeDrums [Simmons], Percussion [Sound Plates], Electronic Drums [Synare], Timpani – Anton FierGuitar – Nicky SkopelitisKora, Guitar, Talking Drum – Foday Musa SusoProgrammed By [Fairlight CMI] – Will AlexanderSynthesizer [Fairlight CMI, Yamaha DX7], Clavinet – Herbie HancockTalking Drum, Ghatam [Chatan], Bells – Aïyb Dieng*Trumpet – Toshinori KondoTurntables – D.St*Written-By – B. Laswell*, F.M. Suso*, H. Hancock*
7 Metal Beat (Extended Version) 6:45

Companies, etc.



24 bit remastered, 8-page booklet

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: none
  • Matrix / Runout: HHCOLCD 140403007

Other Versions (5 of 33) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
FC 39478 Herbie Hancock Sound-System(LP, Album) Columbia FC 39478 US 1984 Sell This Version
28AP 2918 Herbie Hancock Sound-System(LP, Album) CBS/Sony 28AP 2918 Japan 1984 Sell This Version
CBS 26062 Herbie Hancock Sound-System(LP, Album) CBS CBS 26062 UK 1984 Sell This Version
471236 2 Herbie Hancock Sound-System(CD, Album, RE, RM) Columbia, Legacy 471236 2 Europe 1992 Sell This Version
SBP 238026 Herbie Hancock Sound-System(LP, Album) CBS SBP 238026 Australia 1984 Sell This Version