Hoedh ‎– Universum

Dark Vinyl Records ‎– DV 46, Dark Vinyl Records ‎– DV #46
CD, Album


1 Matrix 10:11
2 Compendium 8:24
3 Musrevinu 5:31
4 Rosae 3:09
5 Creation 4:37
6 Energetik 10:40
7 Fluere 6:29
8 Herzreise 4:29
9 Adeptus 6:16
Xtra Track
10 Daemmerung Am Pog (Variation-Cut) 11:57

Companies, etc.



Created 1995-2000
EFX-Remastered 2002
Track 9 "is a cut from the original 23-minutes-mix taken from thee OCT 12inch-pic-disc released in 1996." This exact cut was also released on cassette in 1995.

"In the full-moon night of 15th-16th May 2003, the neuro-mystic Thorn Hoedh, passed away. He left behind for us to witness, his last album, a very special example of his talent in musical creativity. During his life, he was blessed with an extraordinary talent, a deep insight into the nature of things, Universum - God - he also allows us a look into deep dimensions, that many of us domesticated primates, have not had the chance to share. Even so, he did not just leave his brilliant work but also an indescribable "hole" in the universe of his loved ones, his two daughters, his wife and all his friends. -- Ad Rosam Per Crucem, Paul Hostia 23rd November 2003"

Marketed & dustributed by Dark Vinyl Records . P.O. box 1221 , 90539 Eckental , Germany
Fax ++49 - 9126 - 288724 Web: www.darkvinyl.com , Email: darkvinyl@t-online.de

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 4 013438 020546
  • Barcode (Scanned): 4013438020546
  • Matrix / Runout: Sony DADC A0100522175-0101 15 A0
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L555
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 944B
  • Label Code: LC06012
  • Rights Society: GEMA


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



February 2, 2017
edited about 1 year ago

There are two amazing tracks here: "Matrix", a mix of "Universum 04" from Various - Transversalis with some additional sounds added, and "Daemmerung Am Pog (Variation Cut)", a mix of "Heilige" which goes way back to 1990. The release is worth it for those two alone, but the other tracks are great as well.


April 8, 2009
This is dark, colorful, emotional music. While listening to it the pictures running through mind involve graveyards late at night, death, spiritual presences, dreary funeral processions, hymns and ever-droning church bells. The first track is the most powerful and I can't help but imagine it depicts the dark moments that started it all. Then follows unrest and mourning and eventually some form of redemption. Gradually the music gets lighter and finally at the end warmth and hope is restored in it.

The style of the music here is in a similar vein as Hoedh's "Hymnvs" from 1993, but darker and more interesting. The album flows beautifully together telling a story. Given the circumstances of this release, compiled postmortem by Thorn Hoedh's partner Paul Hostia (together they were Moksha, DLS and OCT), it feels extremely personal. In my opinion this release is a great tribute to Thorn Hoedh. He has gone to join the Universum and left behind this inspiring music in his memory.