Hostetler*, Babbitt*, Swift*, Amirkhanian* ‎– Perspectives Of New Music


Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Randolph Hostetler Happily Ever After
Composed By – Randolph HostetlerVoice [Storyteller] – Alex Colwell, Aliyah Baruchin, Andrew Lowenstein, Andrew Szanton, Andy Weinstein, Bec Edelson, Carla Weiss, Charles Lowenstein, Chris Westberg, Colin Selig, Danny Ashkenazi, Dave Edelson, David Blatt, David Henry (4), Ed Selig, Eric Hostetler, Ethan Nelson, Four Hewes, Francesca Talenti, Frank Hankey, Frederic Rzewski, Ginny Kelly, Greg Pliska (2), Jim Colwell, Jim Hostetler, John Edelson, John Lupfer, Julien Saenz, Katherine Gerig Hostetler, Kim Wiley, Larry Hewes, Lester Hostetler, Libby Hartigan, Liz Lusskin, Luke Jaeger (2), Marc Hershman, Marc Lowenstein (2), Marshall Edelson, Martin Bresnick, Marty Boroson, Matt Greenberg (2), Mel Powell, Michael Westberg, Mike Denneen (2), Mimi Hertzog, Muna Shehadi, Nick England, Niki Cook, Patrick Hewes, Paul Hershenson, Randy Hostetler*, Renata Selig, Rick Appelbaum, Rick Park, Rob Guilleman, Sally Fairbanks, Sarah Szanton, Scott Palmer (3), Steven Ottley, Susan Schorr, Ted Miltenberger, Victor Bloom, Zelda Edelson, Zona Fairbanks Hostetler
2 Milton Babbitt Arie Da Capo
Cello – Joseph BichselClarinet, Bass Clarinet – Beverly SetzerComposed By – Milton BabbittConductor – Ciro ScottoEngineer [Recording] – Gary LouieFlute – Pamela RykerPiano – Anne Marie ScottoViolin – Paul Susen
3 Richard Swift Prime
Alto Saxophone – Pat LoomisBass – Todd GowersCello – Joseph BichselComposed By – Richard SwiftConductor – Ciro ScottoEngineer [Recording] – Gary LouieFlute – Pamela RykerHarp – Pamela VokolekOboe – Kin KosetTrombone – Andrew HillakerViola – Jubilee Cooke
4 Charles Amirkhanian Pas De Voix (Portrait Of Samuel Beckett)
Composed By – Charles AmirkhanianEngineer [Final Mix] – Robert SchumakerPerformer [Sound Sculpture] – Larnie FoxRecorded By – Charles Amirkhanian, Susan Gilmore StoneTechnician [Synclavier Treatments Assistance] – Henry Kaiser

Companies, etc.



Years of composition:
Track 1: 1987
Track 2: January 1974
Track 3: Spring 1973
Track 4: 1987

Track 1 realized in the electro-acoustic music studios at the California Institute of the Arts; storytellers recorded between May and December 1986
Track 4's treatment of ambient sounds performed in the Synclavier Studio of Henry Kaiser, Oakland, CA; sounds recorded in various places in Paris; engineered at 1750 Arch Studios in Berkeley
Technical Production: Curtis Roads, Studio Strada (Boston) and Soundmirror (Boston)

Track 2 commissioned by the Walter W. Naumburg Foundation
Track 3 composed for Jerome Rosen
Track 4 commissioned by Klaus Schöning and is a recording of the West German Radio (WDR)

School of Music DN-10 · University of Washington · Seattle WA 98195
© 1988 Perspectives of New Music
Tracks 1 to 3 ℗ 1988 Perspectives of New Music
Track 4 ℗ 1987 Arts Plural Publishing (BMI)
Manufactured by Nimbus Records, Charlottesville, VA

Comes with the Volume 26 issue of Perspectives of New Music magazine.
Issued in a standard jewel case including a 12-page booklet.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Mirrored): PNM 26 (V) ⸬ MASTERED BY NIMBUS
  • Rights Society (Track 4): BMI
  • Other (SPARS Code): ADD