Hungarian String Quartet*, Beethoven* ‎– String Quartets Volume One (N.° 1 In F Major, Op. 18, N.°1 ✶ N.° 2 In G Major, Op. 18, N.°2)

Columbia ‎– 33CX 1168
Vinyl, LP, Reissue, Mono


Quartet No. 1 In F Major, Op. 18, No. 1
A1 First Movement—Allegro Con Brio
A2 Second Movement—Adagio Affettuoso Ed Appassionato
A3 Third Movement—Scherzo (Allegro Molto) And Trio
A4 Fourth Movement—Allegro
Quartet No. 2 In G Major, Op. 18, No. 2
B1 First Movement—Allegro
B2 Second Movement—Adagio Cantabile—Allegro—Tempo I
B3 Third Movement—Scherzo (Allegro) And Trio
B4 Fourth Movement—Allegro Molto Quasi Presto

Companies, etc.



A self-adhesive stamp with tax code "ET" frames the release date between Apr 8th 1959 and Aug 1st 1960.

Back cover of this version shows a different design, mentioning Columbia Graphophone Company Ltd.
instead of E.M.I. Records Limited, which points towards an earlier release.

Blue/gold labels. Sleeve with halfmoon flipbacks.

(On labels:) "Made in Gt. Britain"
(On rear sleeve:) "Made and Printed in Great Britain"
(On labels and sleeve:) Magic Notes trade mark

Other information: monaural recording, Sep-Dec 1953.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side 1, stamped): XAX 503 - 1N
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side 2, stamped): XAX 504 - 1N
  • Matrix / Runout (Matrix on label, side 1): XAX503
  • Matrix / Runout (Matrix on label, side 2): XAX504
  • Other (Tax code on a self-adhesive stamp with purple/white lettering, back of sleeve): ET