Hystericmaniak ‎– Construkted EP

Drowne Records ‎– DRW027
4 × File, MP3, EP, 320 kbps

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Construkted
2 Construkted
Remix – Nicolas Bacher
3 Escalate
4 Escalate
Remix – Anthony Castaldo


The maltese techno artist and label-manager Hystericmaniak has stepped up his first release on Drowne Records and comes up with the 'Construkted EP'. Two restrained originals deliver different atmospheres for the early hours, and come along with two storming reworks by the austrian techno-stalwart Nicolas Bacher, and the up-and-coming neapolitan Anthony Castaldo!

The first original 'Construkted' takes-off with a rumbling bassline and get's reinforced by tender toms. Top-structures and crisp shakers start layering very soon and define the groove, while delayed vocal snippets come to scene. The theme, which contains of restrained one-note synths and bass-shots, appears on the scene and condenses in the break before ringing in the action again with a bright ride!

Follow up 'Escalate' starts with a pumping bassline and catchy one-note chords, while hihats define the offbeat-accentuation and electrifying percussions crackle around. A wide resonating male vocal rises and keeps flashing-up all along the track, before the theme digs itself out and reinforces the deep vibe the track circles around! The offbeat-hihats gain support by bright 909 rides and well placed effects hiss and buzz around.

Coming to light with a sub-fueled kickdrum the rework from NB Records mastermind Nicolas Bacher gains weight very fast! Driving top-structures make tension and well-defined mid-percussions strike at the right time in cooperation with futuristic tonal ones. Withal ringing-in the breaks, dub-delayed chords appear and determine the theme which dives back and forth during the track. Atmospheric pads arise to make tension at the right time, and rides concrete the groove. Nicolas Bacher's re-definition of 'Construkted' gets supported by massive impacts and various dub-delays add a lot of organic quality to the track!

Anthony Castaldo's rework of 'Escalate' takes-off with bulbous kickdrums while chanting pads waft around to create a floating mood right from the beginning! Open-hihats lay the foundation for the groove, before a gently ride appears. Snappy offbeat-hihats cooperate with sweet stabbing shakers, while the chord-theme is announced by a warped vocal-sample known from the original.
Claps reinforce the uplifting rhythm, while well-aimed one-note bass-shots concrete the tracks forward-orientation. Rising pads and breaking-through rides make tension at the right time, and leave us mesmerized!

Overall the 'Construkted' EP covers many facets of techno and comes up with different vibes for any hour!