INXS ‎– Kick

Rhino Records (2) ‎– R2 78204
CD, Album, Reissue, Remastered

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Guns In The Sky 2:21
2 New Sensation 3:40
3 Devil Inside 5:15
4 Need You Tonight 3:01
5 Mediate 2:36
6 The Loved One
Written-By – Gerry Humphries*, Ian Clyne*, Rob Lovett*
7 Wild Life 3:10
8 Never Tear Us Apart 3:06
9 Mystify 3:17
10 Kick 3:14
11 Calling All Nations 3:02
12 Tiny Daggers 3:38
Bonus Tracks (Previously Unreleased)
13 Move On (Guitar Version)
Mixed By – Mark Opitz
14 Jesus Was A Man
Mixed By – Mark Opitz
15 Mystify (Chicago Demo) 4:11
16 The Trap (Demo) 2:32

Companies, etc.



Remastered reissue of this 1987 LP with four previously unreleased bonus tracks.

This Reissue / Compilation ℗ 1987, 1988 & 2002 Atlantic Recording Corporation. © 1987 & 2002 Atlantic Recording Corporation & Rhino Entertainment Company.

"The Loved One" © 1987 Mushroom Music Pty., Ltd. All rights in the U.S. and Canada administered by Chrysalis Music (ASCAP).
"Guns In The Sky" © 1990 Chardonnay Investments Ltd. (APRA). All rights on behalf of Chardonnay Investments Ltd. (APRA) administered by WB Music Corp. (ASCAP).
"Mediate" © 1987 XL Publishing Pty. Ltd. (APRA). All rights on behalf of XL Publishing Pty. Ltd. (APRA) administered by WB Music Corp. (ASCAP).
"Wild Life", "Devil Inside", "Need You Tonight", "New Sensation", "Tiny Daggers", "Calling All Nations", "Kick", "Never Tear Us Apart" & "Mystify" © 1987 Chardonnay Investments Ltd. (APRA), XL Publishing Pty. Ltd. (APRA). All rights on behalf of Chardonnay Investments Ltd. (APRA), XL Publishing Pty. Ltd. (APRA) administered by WB Music Corp. (ASCAP).

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 0 8122-78204-2 8
  • Matrix / Runout: LT36 R2-78204 #20930Z26 11
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 6000

Other Versions (5 of 173) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
255080.1, 255080-1 INXS Kick(LP, Album, Gat) WEA, WEA 255080.1, 255080-1 Australia 1987 Sell This Version
MERHC 114, 832 721-4 INXS Kick(Cass, Album, Chr) Mercury, Mercury MERHC 114, 832 721-4 UK 1987 Sell This Version
MMTCD 1989 INXS Kick(CD, Album, RE) Mercury MMTCD 1989 South Africa 1996 Sell This Version
832 721-2 INXS Kick(CD, Album, RP) Mercury 832 721-2 UK Unknown Sell This Version
MERH 114, 832 721-1 INXS Kick(LP, Album, Gat) Mercury, Mercury MERH 114, 832 721-1 UK 1987 Sell This Version



Add Review



September 23, 2011
Kick is INXS' masterpiece. 1987 was the year the world embraced INXS as the greatest rock pop live band. There was and there is no doubt about it. Millions of records sold, touring for almost two years. INXS was given the Grammy, MTV and American Music awards because of this albums, the songs in this album, and the videos of those songs. Recently, an on line poll result show that Need you tonight is still one of the greatest videos of the 80's. Even though it is not my favourite one, I have to admit it is growing within me, I love this album, I love this band, and INXS is what it is thanks and because of this album, and everybody must acknowledge that Kick is one of the greatest records of the 80's, if not, all time.

As good as the Japanesse edition of 1989, which includes some DJ remix and b-sides Move on and Different world, this remastered and expanded edition of the 1987 album sounds great and contains new songs available for the first time. The artwork is the same, but what improves this edition is the sound and the bonus tracks (Mystify demo and Move on guitar demo), which are different from the Japanesse edition, and shows Michael Hutchence's talent as a songwriter and singer, the examples are the new songs The trap (demo) and Jesus was a man.

As a INXS fan and collector, this reedition is a MUST, as well as the WEA Japan Special Edition of 1989. You can spare the Deluxe Edition of 2004 which comprises this Rhino Edition with the WEA edition of 1989, leaving out the song Different world. Different world also appears in the 2001 Rhino Anthology Shine like it does. And if you have already gone nuts, and your Kick thirst wasn't quenched you have the 2011 Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab vinyl edition, but the cherries of the cake are the WEA Limited Edition Exclusive Tour Release of 1988 and the WEA Picture Disc of 1987. Bon apetit!