IRM ‎– The Cult Of The Young Men

Annihilvs ‎– APEX005
CD, Album, Limited Edition

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 The Cult Of The Young Man 7:39
2 Here Are The Young Men
Written-By [Uncredited] – Joy Division
3 Limelight 6:07
4 Stage Of Crucifixion 6:42
5 Aktion Anathem 7:02
6 Euphoria 4:57
7 Rent Boy 7:30
8.1 Sebastian 8:10
8.2 Untitled 11:14

Companies, etc.



Released in jewel case with a 4-page inlay.

Tracks 1, 2, 7 recorded live at Studio Norrköping, Winter 2006.
Tracks 3 to 5 recorded live at Fylkingen, Stockholm, 12 October 2002.
Track 6 recorded live at Apex Fest, Trash Bar, New York, 24 June 2005.
Track 8 recorded live at Goudvishal, Arnhem, 18 February 2006.

Track 8 is split into two parts (full length: 19:56; between the tracks is silence).

IRM appear courtesy of Cold Meat Industry.

"Portrayal of the trauma and degeneration, the sorrows we suffered and never were free." - Ian Curtis [from booklet]

Limited edition of 900 copies.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout: GFR/CA The Cut Of The Young Men C07070031
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPILW44



Add Review



September 26, 2016

A mix of live material and live in-studio material, The Cult of the Young Men still flows like an album. The first two tracks are new from the studio. Cult of the Young Man starts with that oh so familiar violin (?) sound present on much IRM/Martin Bladh material, followed by a steady, cavernous bass kick. The arrangement is very spartan, but it works, allowing the vocals to come through clearly. About half way through bizarre noises appear, something like metal cabal scrapping huge walls of steel. This is industrial, but some warped fucked up version. An excellent start. Here Are the Young Men thunders in with massive bass propelling the track, heavier than previous, but still a very simple and sparse arrangement of sound. Limelight and Aktion Anthem fall somewhere between dark ambient and industrial. Maybe too noisy to be dark ambient, but not quite PE or pure Industrial.

Then Stage of Crucifixion creeps its way into view. This a behemoth track, all machine rhythms and panning distorted bass. Martin Bladh sounds like he's screaming from the bottom of the ocean, which works perfectly in conjunction with the waves of white noise ebbing in and out. Only a slight complaint, but I feel like this is almost exactly the same background music as Like Hearts from the Sweetness Will Overcome comp. Either way, great song. Euphoria, a violent and explosive track of straight up PE. The vocals are fierce on this one. I wish i could've seen this live. Sebastian ends the album in a truly epic fashion. First is a live version of said track, a piano dirge reminiscent of the Swans during the Holy Money era for me. But after there's ten minute cover of Joy Division's Decades which is really bizarre, you'll have to hear that one for yourself.

I would highly recommend this album especially for the exclusive material which stands out as some of the best material from the group in my opinion. However, I do find it mildly annoying that there seems to be a trend of recycling certain sounds throughout the album.