In The Nursery ‎– Prelude 1983~1985 The Formative Years

ITN Corporation ‎– corp 007
CD, Album, Compilation, Repress

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Remain 3:14
2 Stone Souls 3:25
3 Excecution's Romance 5:20
4 Patter 4:10
5 A To I 3:33
6 Mystery 4:10
7 Witness (To A Scream) 4:00
8 E984 3:30
9 Iskra 3:09
10 Sentient 4:04
11 Deus Ex Machina
Voice [Female] – Janet Clarkson
12 Lost Prayer
Voice [Female] – Janet Clarkson
13 And Your Eyes
Voice [Female] – Wilson (3)

Companies, etc.

  • Distributed ByEFA – EFA CD 70107-2
  • Glass Mastered AtNIMBUS



Tracks 1 to 6 taken from mini album When Cherished Dreams Come True
Tracks 7 and 8 taken from 7" Witness (To A Scream)
Tracks 9 and 10 taken from compilation LP From Torture To Conscience
Tracks 11 to 13 taken from 12" Sonority

Another edition comes without barcode field, distributed by Discordia.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 0 718757 010721
  • Matrix / Runout: CORP 007 : 1:5
  • Label Code: LC 6110

Other Versions (3 of 3) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
NORMAL 74 In The Nursery Prelude 1983-1985(LP, Album, Comp) NORMAL NORMAL 74 Germany 1989 Sell This Version
corp 007 In The Nursery Prelude 1983~1985 The Formative Years(CD, Album, Comp, RE) ITN Corporation corp 007 UK 1994 Sell This Version
NORMAL 74 CD In The Nursery Prelude(CD, Album, Comp) Normal NORMAL 74 CD Germany 1989 Sell This Version



Add Review



January 5, 2009
Apart from being replaced by annoyingly uglier, illegible cover art (the original being done by obliquely prolific Chris Bigg), 'Prelude' contain ITN's essential early material in its entirety - respectfully and chronologically documenting then trio's infatuation with raw, military rock sound.

There are obvious attempts at sounding exactly like Joy Division; the prevailing dark bass line and occasional drum machine ('Execution's Romance') are particularly evident but the group's innovative use of military snare and saxophones in the mix created something equally authentic and progressive. The whole of their debut mini LP 'When Cherished Dreams Come True' is included here - 'Remain', 'Stone Souls', 'Execution's Romance', 'Patter', 'A to I' and 'Mystery' (originally released as a mini-lp) backed with a tiny but strong 7" single 'Witness (To a Scream)' and its beautiful, energetic b-side 'E984'. While stretching themselves between sympathetic naiveness and artistic sobriety, here ITN witness their partial indecisions between becoming part of the alternative pop or the avant-garde elite.

The rumour has it, the twin brothers experienced rather negative response from the public - their image and name were often tastelessly accused of as nazi-invoked or paedophiliac even. This was probably due to ITN's early connection with the equally suffering NER label, ran by Death In June's Douglas P - who's released some of the singles included on this compilation.

Although the trio are stilistically less exhibitionist or endlessly obsessed by mysticism, 'Iskra' and 'Sentient' plus the last three tracks from this disc ('Deux Ex Machina', 'Lost Prayer' and 'And Your Eyes'), due to their sinister sound, effectively fit into the NER repertoire - the first two tracks originally appeared on NER's obscure compilation LP ('From Torture To Conscience') while the remaining three were a sole 12" offering (under the name 'Sonority').

All of these recordings are signified by a trace of electronics, but these are mainly confirmed in sound treatment more than actual presence of a synthesizer. While later material is added more ambitious appeal, this is ITN at their finest 'punk' stage; provocative and challenging, emotional and childish. While each of their retrospective compilations offers suitable introduction to ITN's up-to-date work, 'Prelude' remains a favourite (and more authentic).