Insomnia (16) ‎– Days Of Alcyone

Geheimnis Records ‎– GHMN.011
Vinyl, LP, Album, Remastered, Limited Edition, Numbered


A1 Asleep (Intro)
A2 Crossing The Horizon
A3 The Wind Blows East
A4 Little Flashing Thing
A5 Medieval Portrait
B1 Haunted Dance
B2 Pulsing The End
B3 The Meaning Of The Dream
B4 The Race
B5 Days Of Alcyone

Companies, etc.



Recorded in Athens, 1991-1992.
Cover picture:"Alcyone", a painting by Herbert James Draper (1915).

Limited to 324 hand-numbered copies:
• 162 on black vinyl (this)
• 162 on deep transparent red

Includes a printed insert, containing a bio, infos, photos and tracking list.

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
TP982 201-1 Insomnia (16) Days Of Alcyone(LP, TP) Warner Music Greece TP982 201-1 Greece 1992 Sell This Version
GHMN.011 Insomnia (16) Days Of Alcyone(LP, Album, RM, Ltd, Num, Red) Geheimnis Records GHMN.011 Greece 2013 Sell This Version



Add Review



July 9, 2013
Insomnia were formed in 1988 in Athens, Greece. Their first name was “Isolated Figures” but dropped out very soon, because of its very Joy Divisionish reminiscence sound. The band was consisted of : Aristos Vassilopoulos on vocals, Kostas Brellas on synths, George Aggelopoulos – guitars, Mihalis Papanikolaou – bass and John Kaoudis – drums. After rehearsing with lots of different drum players, they ended up to collaborate with Nikos Hantzopoulos (later drum player at the 90’s band “Closer”).
Their sound is fully influenced by the early 80’s new wave and post punk bands of that era (Mecano, The Danse Society, Bauhaus e.t.c.) and of course from the atmospheric 4AD sound that dominated around the years 1983 – 1986. They gave some unexpectedly successful live concerts during the years 1989 to 1992 and they managed to fill several times the then newly founded “AN” club at Exarchia square, in downtown Athens.
During the fall of 1991 they reached an agreement with Warner Music and entered the studio to start recording a full LP album. The result of these recording sessions is the album “Days of Alcyone” that you’re holding in your hands, back then scheduled to be released, according the record company’s plans, during the winter of 1992. A test-pressing record was cut and everybody in the band waited for the date of release, but it turned out to be a postponement race because of the arguments raised upon the music orientation of the band and the record company’s obsession to re-record the vocals in their native (Greek) language. The band was unwilling to succumb to the Warner Music’s pressures and as it’s been proved this album was not meant to be released at all.
Under these circumstances, Insomnia got tired of waiting 2 long years while they were playing the same songs over and over again to promote the record and having a load of new material that they could not record and move forward. Finally, disappointed because of the record company’s inconsistence to release their album, they split up in 1993.