Inverse Cinematics ‎– Passin' Through

Pulver Records ‎– PULVER 043 CD
CD, Album, Promo, Cardboard Sleeve

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Somethin' New (Intro) 2:41
2 Detroit Jazzin' 7:04
3 Passin' Through 5:07
4 Take It Back To 86
Vocals – Jebidiah Pinnell
5 Calm Sea 5:24
6 Sundrops 5:59
7 The Black Verse (Interlude) 2:47
8 Sambatime 7:06
9 Interplanetary Motivations 7:36
10 Don't Give Up 7:18
11 Get Mellow One More (Outro) 3:24
12 The Rise And Fall (Bonus) 6:36

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
Pulver Records 043CD Inverse Cinematics Passin' Through(CD, Album) Pulver Records Pulver Records 043CD Germany 2008 Sell This Version


Add Review



May 26, 2011
On the quest for the past, present and future of soul

22-year-old Danilo Plessow from Stuttgart is the man behind INVERSE CINEMATICS. The international club music scene cannot be imagined without him. At the age of 10 Danilo began to experiment with electronic music and soon decided to sell his drum kit to buy studio equipment. He completed his first tracks in 1997 - at this point Danilo was just 12 years old. Although the first songs still sounded very technoid, the soul of Afro-American music has already been reminiscent in his early work and keeps influencing his music today.

It was by mere chance that Danilo and his partner Joachim Tobias alias INVERSE CINEMATICS have been discovered by Pulver Records. In 2002 the “Slow Swing” EP was released. After the release party at the legendary club “Le Fonque” in Stuttgart Danilo discovered the fascination and intensity of club culture. Now driving and hypnotic elements join his productions, adding to the more lounge influenced music.

Danilo who is always on the go does not succeed in fusing all of his enthusiasm for soul music and its many styles in one single project. Aside from different remix jobs and minor projects he also produces tracks as “Motor City Drum Ensemble” under the popular label “Four Roses Recordings”. After numerous productions - among others for the French label “Faces” – remixes on “Ninja Tunes”, a release under the Swedish cult label “Raw Fusion” under the pseudonym “Aphro Pzyko”, the release of the cult hit “Detroit Jazzin” now the long-expected long player “Passin Through” is released on Pulver Records.

In the past two years Danilo collected songs for the album which production wise, fit all to one piece. This, of course, includes a hip-hop track („Take it back to 86 feat. Jebediah“), very jazzy songs (e.g. „The Black Verse“), housy tracks („Don’t give up“) or Latin beats („ Samba Time“). „Passin’ Through“ is more of an up-to-date inventory and description of Danilo’s influences than a chronological time travel. The strong rhythmical and percussive elements are held together by intensive hooks and melodies and merge into an overall experience, which guides the listener through alternating moods. The instrumentation, which is mainly based on samples, testifies deep roots in the Crate Digging culture. “I would like to put my samples into a new context instead of simply forcing the essence of old songs into a new form”, Danilo explains.

Addressing the issue of which track is his favorite, Danilo does not want to commit himself to one single song. “The only track („Detroit Jazzin’“), which has already been released on the album, is still one of my favorites in the club. Today I still get positive feedback for it. However, I have put all my heart and soul in „Interplanetary Motivations“ because I have dealt with this track very intensively. It is timeless and unites a lot of moods. If “Passin through” is the essence of my work, then “Planetary Motivations” might be the essence of the album.”