J.B. Lenoir ‎– Natural Man

Doxy ‎– DOY644LP
Vinyl, LP, Compilation


A1 Natural Man
A2 Mama, What About Your Daughter
A3 Give Me One More Shot
A4 Everybody Wants To Know
A5 JB’s Rock
A6 If You Love Me
A7 Low Down Dirty Shame
A8 Don’t Touch My Head
A9 When I Am Drinking
A10 I’ve Been Down For So Long
B1 Five Years
B2 Don’t Dog Your Woman
B3 I Don’t Know
B4 Good Looking Woman
B5 If I Give My Love To You
B6 Carrie Lee
B7 Korea Blues
B8 Eisenhower Blues
B9 Let Me Die With The One I Love
B10 What I Have Done



This LP of original Chess recordings (1951-1955), originally released on the label as 78s, is a ‘best of’ Delta bluesman J.B. Lenoir’s early period. Introduced onto the Chicago blues scene in 1949 by Big Bill Broonzy, Lenoir was soon recording regularly for labels like Job and Chess. By the time his “Eisenhower Blues” was released for Parrott Records in 1954, Lenoir’s beautiful voice and talent for songwriting had made him a big man on campus. The protest song, which criticized President Eisenhower and his tax policy, was fast on its way to becoming a hit when it was unceremoniously yanked from shelves by government censors. However, J.B. was not deterred, and continued his social / political criticism with songs like “Korea Blues” - and later “Down In Mississippi” and “Vietnam Blues”. However, he was not without a sense of humour as well, and wrote songs like “Don’t Touch My Head” about his new process hairdo.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 8013252886447

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
DOL1504 J.B. Lenoir Natural Man(LP, Comp, RE) Dol DOL1504 Europe 2014 Sell This Version