J.J. Cale ‎– Shades

Shelter Records ‎– 203 276, Shelter Records ‎– 203 276-320
Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Carry On
Bass – Carol KayeDrums – Russ KunkelEngineer – Hugh Davies (2)Organ, Vocals – Christine LakelandRhythm Guitar – Tommy Tedesco
A2 Deep Dark Dungeon
Drums – Kenneth Buttrey*Engineer – Ron ReynoldsPiano – David Briggs (2)Rhythm Guitar – Johnny Christopher
A3 Wish I Had Not Said That
Drums – Hayward BishopEngineer – Audie Ashworth, J.J. CalePiano, Guitar [Gut-String] – J.J. CaleSynthesizer [Moog], Percussion, Rhythm Guitar [Gut-String], Vocals – Christine Lakeland
A4 Pack My Jack
Bass – Emory Gordy*Drums – Jim KeltnerElectric Guitar – James BurtonEngineer – Hugh Davies (2)Piano – Glen D. Hardin*
A5 If You Leave Her
Drums – Jimmy KarsteinElectric Guitar [Rhythm] – Bill BoatmanElectric Piano – Larry BellEngineer – Les LaddPiano – J.J. Cale
B1 Mama Don't
Arranged By – J.J. CaleDrums – Kenneth Buttrey*Electric Guitar [2nd Solo] – J.J. CaleElectric Guitar [Solos 1 & 3] – Reggie YoungElectric Piano – David Briggs (2)Engineer, Mixed By – Ron ReynoldsPiano – Bobby EmmonsRhythm Guitar – Johnny Christopher
B2 Runaround
Bass – Emory Gordy*Drums – Hal BlaineEngineer – Hugh Davies (2)Piano – Billy Payne*
B3 What Do You Expect
Drums – Gary AllenElectric Guitar – Gordon ShryockElectric Piano – Leon RussellEngineer – Steve Ripley
B4 Love Has Been Gone
Drums – Karl HimmelEngineer – Joe Mills
B5 Cloudy Day
Drums – Gary AllenEngineer – Chad HaileyMixed By – Ron ReynoldsSaxophone – Dennis Solee*

Companies, etc.



Produced for Audigram Productions.

A1: Recorded at Capitol Studios, Hollywood, CA.
A2: Recorded at Columbia Studios, Nashville, TN.
Mixed at The Lakehouse, Old Hickory, TN.
A3: Recorded at The Lakehouse, Old Hickory, TN.
A4: Recorded live at Capitol Studios, Hollywood, CA.
A5: Recorded at Woodland Studios, Nashville, TN.
B1: Recorded live and mixed at Columbia Studios, Nashville, TN.
B2: Recorded live at Capitol Studios, Hollywood, CA.
B3: Recorded live at Paradise Studios, No. Hollywood, CA.
Mixed at Capitol Studios, Hollywood, CA.
B4: Recorded at Bradleys Barn, Mt. Juliet, TN. & The Lakehouse, Old Hickory, TN.
Mixed at The Lakehouse
B5: Recorded at Crazy Mamas, Nashville, TN.
Mixed at Columbia Studios, Nashville, TN

Recorded in 1980

℗ 1980 Shelter Recording Co., Inc.

Im Ariola-Vertrieb (distributed by Ariola).
Printed in Western Germany by Mohndruck Graphische Betriebe GmbH, Gütersloh.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Rights Society: GEMA
  • Label Code: LC 1766
  • Matrix / Runout (Label A): S 203 276 A
  • Matrix / Runout (Label B): S 203 276 B
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout A, stamped): 203276 A-1/81S Made in Germany
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout B, stamped): 203276 B-1/81S Made in Germany

Other Versions (5 of 48) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
SHL/18013 J.J. Cale Shades(LP, Album) Shelter Records, Ariston Music SHL/18013 Italy 1981 Sell This Version
PRICE 65 J.J. Cale Shades(LP, RE) Mercury PRICE 65 UK 1984 Sell This Version
403 276, 403 276-352 J.J. Cale Shades(Cass, Album) Shelter Records, Shelter Records 403 276, 403 276-352 France 1981 Sell This Version
800 105-2 J. J. Cale* Shades(CD, Album) Mercury 800 105-2 Germany Unknown Sell This Version
6302 210 J.J. Cale Shades(LP, Album, RE) Mercury 6302 210 France 1982 Sell This Version