Jacket Weather ‎– When Shadows Move

Synthetic Shadows ‎– SS09
Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Limited Edition

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 The River Sleeps 2:19
A2 Markers 1:52
A3 Trust 2:35
A4 Must Be West 2:33
A5 I Would Dream
Written-By – Debra Dickey, Timothy Gassen
A6 A Busy Morning 2:55
B1 Set Ajar 2:16
B2 La Terra Verde 3:44
B3 Life To Live 2:08
B4 In Like Flint 1:31
B5 Betrayal 3:08
B6 Air Is Cold 2:21

Companies, etc.



Limited edition 400 copies.

Tracks A1-B3, B5 recorded 1982-1983 at Cerius studios in Phoenix, AZ.
Track B4 recorded Spring 1982 at Hi Flyte studios in Tucson, AZ.
Track B6 recorded at PCMP Tucson, Arizona 2012.

Tracks A1-A6 from 1983 "When Shadows Move" EP; Track B4 from 1982 "It's A Wonderful War" cassette demo album; Tracks B1-B6 are previously unreleased on vinyl.



Add Review



September 26, 2013

“For kids in the 1960s, the moment of inspiration was when they heard The Beatles for the first time,” Jacket Weather frontman Timothy Gassen says. “For me, when I heard Kraftwerk’s ‘Computer Love’ for the first time in 1981,I was hooked on making Pop sounds with Synths.” Gassen formed the pioneering Minimalist-Electro-Wave act Jacket Weather in 1982, mixing dual Casiotone keyboards, real bass and drums — with the desolate imagery of the Arizona desert. “I loved the contrast of Synths with human percussion and the sensual backdrop of the desert,” Gassen adds. “We thought the tension of my cold, distant vocals and Synths with the bombastic Rock rhythm section made our sound unique.” Described in their day as a cross between Joy Division and Young Marble Giants, with some Wall Of Voodoo mixed in, Jacket Weather etched their own Minimalistic sound. Staccato, expressionistic vocals accent the snake-like mingling of the Casiotones, while a steady dance pulse backs the eerie mixture. Equally enraptured with Euro Synth-Pop, English Post-Punk and Los Angeles Punk-Wave, Jacket Weather found inspiration from such opposites as Our Daughter’s Wedding to the Suburban Lawns for their Casiotone symphonies. The band recorded a cassette album in 1982, released a 6-song vinyl EP in 1983 (titled “When Shadows Move”) and also recorded a complete album that remained unreleased — until now. Original session producer Gassen (who has gone on to a career in indie rock and film) recently found all the master tapes — from early demos to the EP tapes, and the unreleased album — re-mastering and assembling them all into a collection that has been unheard for 30 years. It’s the dark and mysterious (Casio) tones of Jacket Weather that finally take center stage, three decades since they first drifted through the Arizona night.