Jackson Browne ‎– Lives In The Balance

Asylum Records ‎– 9 60457-1-E, Asylum Records ‎– 60457-1-E
Vinyl, LP, Album, Specialty Pressing

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 For America
Alto Saxophone – Phil KenzieBass – Jennifer CondosDrums – Ian WallaceGuitar – Gary MyrickPiano, Synthesizer – Jai WindingVocoder – Jackson BrowneWritten-By – Jackson Browne
A2 Soldier Of Plenty
Acoustic Guitar – Jackson BrowneBass – Bob GlaubDrums – Russ KunkelGuitar – Steve LukatherSequenced By – Danny Kortchmar, Jackson BrowneSynthesizer – Bill PayneWritten-By – Jackson Browne
A3 In The Shape Of A Heart
Acoustic Guitar – Jackson BrowneBass – Bob GlaubDrums – Stan LynchGuitar – Rick VitoHarmony Vocals – Doug HaywoodSynthesizer – Bill Payne, Craig DoergeWritten-By – Jackson Browne
A4 Candy
Bass – Bob GlaubDrums – Russ KunkelGuitar – Steve LukatherHarmony Vocals – Bonnie Raitt, Doug HaywoodPiano – Jackson BrowneSynthesizer – Bill Payne, Jai WindingWritten-By – Greg Copeland, Wally Stocker
B1 Lawless Avenues
Bass – Jorge Calderõn*Congas – Walfredo Reyes*Drums – Jim KeltnerGuitar – Danny Kortchmar, David Lindley, Waddy WachtelHarmony Vocals – Jorge Calderõn*Piano, Synthesizer – Jai WindingWritten-By – Jackson Browne, Jorge Calderón
B2 Lives In The Balance
Acoustic Guitar [Nylon String] – Jorge StrunzAcoustic Guitar, Sequenced By – Jackson BrowneBass – Bob GlaubCharango, Tipple – Hugo PedrozaDrums – Russ KunkelHarmony Vocals – Deborah Dobkin*, Jackson Browne, Mindy SterlingSampona [Zampoña] – Quique Cruz*Synthesizer – Bill Payne, Jai WindingWritten-By – Jackson Browne
B3 Till I Go Down
Bass – Phil ChenClavinet – Bernie LarsenDrums – Ian WallaceGuitar – Bernie Larsen, David Lindley, Kevin McCormickHarmony Vocals – Doug Haywood, Kevin McCormickOrgan – Ian McClagen*Written-By – Jackson Browne
B4 Black And White
Bass – Bob GlaubDrums – Russ KunkelGuitar – Kevin Dukes, Steve LukatherHarmony Vocals – Doug HaywoodPiano – Bill PayneSynthesizer – Jai WindingWritten-By – Jackson Browne

Companies, etc.



Specialty Records Corporation pressing denoted by "-SP" suffix in label matrices.

Issued with Custom Printed Inner-Sleeve with Credits and Lyrics.

© 1986 Elektra/Asylum Records, 75 Rockefeller Plaza, New York, New York 10019, 9229 Sunset Boulevard, Los Angeles, California 90069/A Division of Warner Communications Inc.
Printed in U.S.A.
Spine is on the right hand side of the front cover on this version.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Printed): 0 7559-60457-1
  • Matrix / Runout (Matrix A, on label): ST-EA-60457-1-E-A-SP
  • Matrix / Runout (Matrix B, on label): ST-EA-60457-1-E-b-SP
  • Rights Society (A1 to B4): ASCAP
  • Rights Society (A4, B1): BMI

Other Versions (5 of 39) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
P-13246 Jackson Browne Lives In The Balance(LP, Album) Asylum Records P-13246 Japan 1986 Sell This Version
96 04571 Jackson Browne Lives In The Balance(LP, Album) Asylum Records 96 04571 Canada 1986 Sell This Version
LWE 6478 Jackson Browne Lives In The Balance(LP, Album) Asylum Records LWE 6478 Mexico 1986 Sell This Version
9 60457-1-E Jackson Browne Lives In The Balance(LP, Album) Asylum Records 9 60457-1-E South Africa 1986 Sell This Version
9 60457-2, 60457-2 Jackson Browne Lives In The Balance(CD, Album, Club) Asylum Records, Asylum Records 9 60457-2, 60457-2 US 1986 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



September 25, 2017
I love most, if not all, of Jackson Browne's stuff. This record could be great were it not for the awful production typical of the mid-1980s.


December 18, 2016
Lives in the balance was the acerbic anti-Reagan anti-war protest song. The lyrics have the real ouch factor. They show up Bruce Springstein's effort in similar vein on Born in the USA for what it was - amateurish. And not only has LItB not dated - it feels even more fresh and poignant now. http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/jacksonbrowne/livesinthebalance.html