Jackson Browne ‎– Running On Empty

Asylum Records ‎– 6E-113
Vinyl, LP, Album, Club Edition

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Running On Empty
Written-By – Jackson Browne
A2 The Road
Written-By – Danny O'Keefe
A3 Rosie
Vocals [Harmony] – Doug Haywood, Joel BernsteinWritten-By – Donald Miller (2), Jackson Browne
A4 You Love The Thunder
Written-By – Jackson Browne
A5 Cocaine
Lyrics By [Additional] – Glenn Frey, Jackson BrowneWritten-By – Rev. Gary Davis
B1 Shaky Town
Vocals [Harmony] – Jackson BrowneWritten-By – Daniel Kortchmar*
B2 Love Needs A Heart
Written-By – Jackson Browne, Lowell George, Valerie Carter
B3 Nothing But Time
Snare, Hihat, Drums [Cardboard Box With Foot Pedal] – Russell*Written-By – Howard Burke, Jackson Browne
B4 The Load-Out
Written-By – Bryan Garofalo, Jackson Browne
B5 Stay
Vocals [Rare Vocal Appearance] – David LindleyWritten-By – Maurice Williams

Companies, etc.



Copies are verbatim to original with all inserts except spoken part at end of 'Cocaine' has been edited out. Small print on rear cover states "Made By Columbia House Under License"

LP housed in photo sleeve. Includes Full-size booklet.

A1, B4: Recorded live on stage at Merriweather Post Pavilion, Columbia, Maryland — 8/27/77.
A2: Recorded in room 301 at the Cross Keys Inn, Columbia, Maryland — 8/27/77 (thanks to Pete Wiley); and on stage at the Garden State Arts Center, Holmdale, New Jersey — 9/7/77. For Judy.
A3: Recorded backstage in the big rehearsal room at Saratoga Performing Arts Center, Sarasota Springs, New York — 9/1/77.
A4: Recorded live on stage at the Garden State Arts Center, Holmdale, New Jersey — 9/6/77.
A5: Recorded in room 124 at the Holiday Inn, Edwardsville, Illinois — 8/17/77.
B1: Recorded in room 124 at the Holiday Inn, Edwardsville, Illinois — 8/18/77.
B2: Recorded live at the Universal Ampitheatre, Universal City, California — 9/17/77.
B3: Recorded on a bus (a Continental Silver Eagle) somewhere in New Jersey — 9/8/77.

Assistance on stage recordings used Showco's 24-track Studer.
Assistance on hotel & bus recordings used N.Y.C. Record Plant's remote truck.
Mixed at Sound Factory, L. A., using the Aphex.
Mastered at A&M.
Lights & Sound by Showco.
Piano supplied by Sound Productions.
Tour booked by Peter Golden for the Wm. Morris Agency.
Many thanks to Elizabeth Reynolds. Thanks always to David Geffen.

℗ & © 1977 Elektra/Asylum Records • A division of Warner Communications Inc.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (A-Side Label): 6E-113-A SP CH
  • Matrix / Runout (B-Side Label): 6E-113-B SP CH
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, Stamped): COLUMBIA NY
  • Matrix / Runout (A-Side Runout Etching): 6E-113-A18-RE-SP SRC 1-1
  • Matrix / Runout (B-Side Runout Etching): 6E-113-B18-SP SRC 1-2

Other Versions (5 of 96) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
6E-113 Jackson Browne Running On Empty(LP, Album, PRC) Asylum Records 6E-113 US 1977 Sell This Version
K53070 Jackson Browne Running On Empty(LP, RE) Asylum Records, Nimbus Records K53070 UK 1985 Sell This Version
7559-60325-2 Jackson Browne Running On Empty(CD, Album, RE, RM) Asylum Records 7559-60325-2 Europe 2003 Sell This Version
53 070 Jackson Browne Running On Empty(LP, Album) Asylum Records 53 070 France 1977 Sell This Version
6E-113-2 Jackson Browne Running On Empty(CD, Album, RM, RP) Asylum Records 6E-113-2 US Unknown Sell This Version