Jackson Browne ‎– The Pretender

Asylum Records ‎– 7E-1079
Vinyl, LP, Album, CSM

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 The Fuse
Bass – Leland SklarDrums – Russell Kunkel*Piano – Craig DoergeSlide Guitar – David Lindley
A2 Your Bright Baby Blues
Acoustic Guitar – Jackson BrowneBass – Chuck RaineyDrums – Jim GordonOrgan – Billy Payne*Piano – Roy BittanSlide Guitar, Harmony Vocals [Harmony] – Lowell George
A3 Linda Paloma
Guitar [Vijuella], Guitar, Backing Vocals [Background Vocal] – Luis F. Damian*Guitarrón [Guitaron], Violin, Backing Vocals [Background Vocal] – Roberto GutierrezHarp, Backing Vocals [Background Vocal], Arranged By – Arthur GerstOther [Millones De Gracias A] – Van Dyke ParksRecorded By – Greg Ladanyi
A4 Here Come Those Tears Again
Bass – Bob GlaubDrums – Jim GordonElectric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar – Fred TackettHarmony Vocals [Harmonies] – Bonnie Raitt, Rosemary ButlerOrgan – Mike Utley*Performer [Random Notes] – Jon LandauPiano – Billy Payne*Soloist [Guitar Solo], Guitar – John Hall*Written-By – Jackson Browne, Nancy Farnsworth
B1 The Only Child
Acoustic Guitar – Fred TackettBass – Chuck RaineyDrums – Jeff PorcaroElectric Guitar – Albert LeeHarmony Vocals [Harmonies] – Don Henley, John David SoutherPercussion – Gary ColemanPiano – Billy Payne*Violin – David Lindley
B2 Daddy's Tune
Arranged By [Horns Arranged By] – Jim HornBass – Leland SklarDrums – Jeff PorcaroGuitar [Guitar Left] – Fred TackettGuitar [Guitar Right] – Waddy*Horns – Chuck Finley*, Dick Hyde, Jim Horn, Quitman Dennit*Piano – Craig DoergeSlide Guitar – David Lindley
B3 Sleep's Dark And Silent Gate
Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar – Fred TackettArranged By [Strings Arranged By] – David CampbellBass – Leland SklarDrums – Jeff PorcaroMixed By – Val GarayPiano – Craig Doerge
B4 The Pretender
Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar – Fred TackettArranged By [Strings Arranged By] – David CampbellBass – Leland SklarDrums – Jeff PorcaroHarmony Vocals [Harmonies] – David Crosby, Graham NashPiano – Craig Doerge

Companies, etc.



Includes inner sleeve with lyrics.

Recorded at Sunset Sound, Mixed at The Sound Factory with Aphex Aural Exciter, Mastered at A&M.

Managed By: for One On One

With Thanks To Lowell George and Valerie Carter for their inspiration and Elizabeth Reynolds for everything else.
Thanks always to David Geffen.

Bonnie Raitt & Lowell George appear courtesy of Warner Bros. Records, Inc.
Graham Nash & David Crosby appear courtesy of ABC Records, Atlantic Records & Polydor International GmbH.

All songs, published by Swallow Turn Music, WB Music Corp. ASCAP, except "Here Come Those Tears Again" by Swallow Turn Music, WB Music Corp. ASCAP and Open Window Music, Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp. BMI

℗ 1976 by Asylum Records

℗&© 1976 Elektra/Asylum/Nonesuch Records
Mfg. by Elektra/Asylum/Nonesuch Records

Another same catalog # exists with matrix# 7E-1079-A SP/7E-1079-B SP on labels.

CSM = Columbia Records Pressing Plant, Santa Maria pressing

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Label, Side One): 7E-1079-A (CSM)
  • Matrix / Runout (Label, Side Two): 7E-1079-B (CSM)
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, Etched, Side One): 7E-1079 A-1 CSM [I underlined] 5 1 S
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, Etched, Side Two): 7E-1079 B-1 CSM B8 1 S
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout A etched, variant): 1S 7E-1079 A-1 CSM 911
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout B etched, variant): S1 7E-1079 B-3 CSM
  • Rights Society: ASCAP, BMI
  • Pressing Plant ID: CSM

Other Versions (5 of 88) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
20P2-2081 Jackson Browne The Pretender(CD, Album, RE, RP) Asylum Records 20P2-2081 Japan 1991 Sell This Version
TC5 107, TC-5107 Jackson Browne The Pretender(Cass, Album, Club) Asylum Records, Asylum Records TC5 107, TC-5107 US 1976 Sell This Version
7E 1079, 7E-1079 Jackson Browne The Pretender(LP, Album) Asylum Records, Asylum Records 7E 1079, 7E-1079 Australia 1976 Sell This Version
K 53048 Jackson Browne The Pretender(LP, Album, CSM) Asylum Records K 53048 Ireland 1976 Sell This Version
8122789122 Jackson Browne The Pretender(CD, Album, RE) Asylum Records 8122789122 Australia Unknown Sell This Version



Add Review



February 9, 2016
edited over 3 years ago

One of JB's best. Standout tracks (in my humble opinion) include "Linda Paloma", "The Only Child", and "The Pretender".