Jam & Spoon ‎– Kaleidoscope

Epic ‎– EK 68752
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Garden Of Eden 5:32
2 Kaleidoscope Skies
Scratches – Kut Master Kay
3 Right In The Night (Fall In Love With Music) 3:45
4 Guiding Light 4:33
5 Warm Dead Dog 5:24
6 Flame
Arranged By – Pit Löw
7 You Got To Get In 2:03
8 To Get Out 6:30
9 Kiss Away 5:27
10 So Called Techno Track 6:16
11 El Baile
Vocals – Carlos Sanchez
12 Mark Runs The Voodoo Down
Trumpet – Peter Koch
13 Suspicious Minds
Arranged By – Pit Löw
14 I Pull My Gun Once 5:04
15 I Pull My Gun Twice 4:19



Tracks 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 13, 15 & 16: Written by Jam El Mar / Mark Spoon.
Tracks 1, 2, 5, 8, 12: Written by Jam El Mar / Mark Spoon / Plavka Lonich.
Tracks 3, 14: Written by Jam El Mar / Mark Spoon / Nosie Katzmann.
Produced by Jam El Mar & Mark Spoon for Allstar Music Productions, Germany.
Recorded & Mixed at The Allstar Warehouse, Frankfurt, Germany.

Other Versions (5 of 14) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
JAM 487262 2, 487262 2 Jam&Spoon* Kaleidoscope(CD, Album) JAM!, Dance Pool JAM 487262 2, 487262 2 Europe 1997 Sell This Version
JAM 487262 1 Jam&Spoon* Kaleidoscope(2xLP, Album) JAM!, Dance Pool JAM 487262 1 Germany 1997 Sell This Version
JAM SAMPCD 4370 Jam & Spoon Kaleidoscope(CD, Album, Promo) JAM!, Dance Pool JAM SAMPCD 4370 Germany 1997 Sell This Version
487262-4 Jam&Spoon* Kaleidoscope(Cass, Album) Dance Pool, Sony Muzik Turkiye 487262-4 Turkey Unknown Sell This Version
JAM 487262 8, 487262 8 Jam & Spoon Kaleidoscope(MD, Album) JAM!, Dance Pool JAM 487262 8, 487262 8 Europe 1997 Sell This Version



Add Review



August 10, 2012

KALEIDOSCOPE sees Jam & Spoon slide a bit from their TRIPOMATIC FAIRYTALES opus. "Garden of Eden" is rather self-indulgent (dig that electric guitar!), and "Kaleidoscope Skies" brings back the Spanish guitar that made their hits ("Right in the Night" reappears on the US version of the album), though this time with a slower tempo and some Indian sitar as well. Indeed, the first half of the album seems much more aimed toward trip-hop aspects: slower breaks on "Warm Dead Dog," and the dub and strings on "Flame"; the jazz trumpet on the gradual chug of "Mark Runs the Voodoo Down." It seems as if they're trying to move away from the club-trance with which they built their reputation, but the results are decidedly mixed. Sure, the atmospheric drum 'n' bass on "To Get Out" is a strong effort, but they also falter when they try to return to the club: "Kiss Away" is a huge slice of cheese (tasty, but still...), "So Called Techno Track" is nowhere near their best work, and "El Baile" seems particularly egregious rip-off of the Latin house boom. Plus, the rock guitars on "I Pull My Gun Once"... really? But they still can kicking out the club jams, as with "Guiding Light," which seems almost spare when compared to their usual output or the more aggressive "I Pull My Gun Twice." You can't blame Jam & Spoon for trying new things, even if they don't always work out well.