Janis Ian ‎– Between The Lines

Columbia ‎– PC 33394
Vinyl, LP, Album, Santa Maria Pressing

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 When The Party's Over
Arranged By [Vocals] – Dennis PerecaLead Guitar – Al GorgoniPercussion – Larry Alexander
A2 At Seventeen
Arranged By [Horns], Guitar [Nylon Guitar] – Janis IanFlugelhorn – Burt CollinsTrombone [Trombonium] – Alan Raph
A3 From Me To You
Fiddle – Ken Kosak*, Russell George
A4 Bright Lights And Promises
Alto Saxophone [Alto Sax] – Artie Kaplan, Romeo PenqueArranged By – Janis IanBass – Richard Davis (2)Soloist, Clarinet – Phil BodnerTenor Saxophone [Tenor Sax] – Joe Grimm, Seldon Powell
A5 In The Winter
Arranged By, Score [Scored By] – Janis IanGuitar – Sal DeTroia*Soloist, Trumpet – Joe Shepley, Ray Crisara*
A6 Watercolors
Arranged By, Score [Scored By] – Janis IanCello – George RicciFlute – Phil Bodner, Romeo PenqueViola – Manny Vardi*
B1 Between The Lines
Piccolo Flute [Piccolo] – Phil BodnerSoloist, Cello – George Ricci
B2 The Come On
Arranged By – Janis Ian, Richard Davis (2), Sal DeTroia*
B3 Light A Light 2:45
B4 Tea & Sympathy
Acoustic Bass – George DuVivierArranged By, Score [Scored By] – Ron FrangipaneElectric Bass – Don PayneSoloist, Cello – George Ricci
B5 Lover's Lullaby
Electric Bass – Don PayneVibraphone [Vibes] – George DevensVocals [Second Vocalist] – Claire Bay

Companies, etc.



"S" in runouts denotes a Columbia Records Pressing Plant, Santa Maria pressing.

Includes color printed inner sleeve with lyrics.

[inner sleeve]
© 1974 Mine Music Ltd. / April Music, Inc. (ASCAP)

[outer sleeve]
© 1975 CBS Inc. / ℗ 1975 CBS Inc. / Manufactured by Columbia Records / CBS Inc.

Printed in U.S.A.

Special thanks to Barry Lazarowitz & Hayman Drums

"Watercolors" appears on both outer and inner sleeves; "Water Colors" appears on label.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A, Etched, (STERLING) Stamped, variant 1): PAL-33394-1F STERLING RL A6 S 1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B, Etched, (STERLING) Stamped, variant 1): PBL-33394-1F STERLING RL 3A6 S 2
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A Etched, [stamped], variant 2): PAL-33394-1F [0 STERLING] RL A 8 S 2 S
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B Etched, [stamped], variant 2): PBL-33394-1C [STERLING] RL [A]
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A [stamped], variant 3): PAL 33394-1AC
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B Etched, variant 3): PBL-33394-1E [STERLING] T2
  • Matrix / Runout (Label Side A): AL 33394
  • Matrix / Runout (Label Side B): BL 33394
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A, Etched, (STERLING) Stamped, variant 4): PAL-33394-1F STERLING RL A2 S 1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B, Etched, (STERLING) Stamped, variant 4): PBL-33394-1F STERLING RL B 2
  • Rights Society: ASCAP
  • Price Code (On Spine): X698

Other Versions (5 of 75) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
PC 33394 Janis Ian Between The Lines(LP, Album, Ter) Columbia PC 33394 US 1975 Sell This Version
88985448711 Janis Ian Between The Lines(LP, Album, RE, RM) Sony Music, Legacy, Rude Girl Records 88985448711 Europe 2018 Sell This Version
88985448712, none Janis Ian Between The Lines(CD, Album, RE, RM) Sony Music, Legacy, Rude Girl Records 88985448712, none UK 2018 Sell This Version
S 80635, 80635 Janis Ian Between The Lines(LP, Album) CBS, CBS S 80635, 80635 UK 1975 Sell This Version
BSR 3009-1 Janis Ian Between The Lines(LP, Album, RE, RM, TP, HQ-) BoxStar Records BSR 3009-1 US 2010 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



April 20, 2015
Curious if anyone else feels like the sound quality of this release is not great. I don't think my copy is a budget line reissue (no hype sticker that would indicate that it is) and other mid '70s Columbia releases sound awesome ( Manhattans, Loggins & Messina, to name a few).


March 23, 2009

This album has lovely melodies, poignant lyrics and stands the test of time. After thirty three years it's still one of my favorite albums. There is a pain and resignation of love lost after the hope of having found love that leaves the majority of recordings far behind. The maturity of Janis Ian's lyrics speak of real life, not just the usual I love you, you love me, tra-la-la tripe, and the melodies compel me to sing with the music so I can feel every musical heartbeat. It also serves as a good test record for buying stereo equipment. The recording itself is very good.