Jay-Z ‎– American Gangster

Roc-A-Fella Records ‎– 602517499898(11)
CD, Album, Super Jewel Box

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Intro
Co-producer – Idris "Driis" Elba*Edited By, Arranged By – Hector Delgado (2)Guitar – Marty ReidMixed By – Hector Delgado (2)Performer, Arranged By – Idris ElbaProducer – Chris FlameRecorded By – Seth FirkinsStrings [Additional] – Timon AbuptahVocals [Additional] – Angel Wood
2 Pray
Bass, Guitar – James Lewis (4)Clarinet [Bass], Trombone [Bass] – Aaron J. JohnsonEngineer [Assistant] – Andy GeelVocals – A.J. Walker, Adonis Shropshire, Carmen Cameron, Cheri Dennis, Jayms Madison, Leisa Johnson*, Shannon JonesVocals [Additional] – BeyoncéWritten-By – A. Hawkshaw*
3 American Dreamin'
Backing Vocals – Keon BryceBass, Piano, Strings – Arden "Keyz" Altino*Co-producer – Mario WinansWritten-By – A. Ross*, L. Ware*, M. Gaye*
4 Hello Brooklyn 2.0
Featuring – Lil' Wayne*Performer [All Instruments] – Bigg D*Producer – Bigg D*Programmed By [Additional] – Drew HollywoodRecorded By – Angel "Ohnel" Aponte*, Ced Hollywood, Drew MoneyWritten-By – D. Baker*, D. Carter*
5 No Hook
Engineer [Assistant] – Heather Boyden, Michelle FigueroaPiano, Strings, Keyboards, Electric Piano [Rhodes] – Arden "Keyz" Altino*Vocals – Jayms MadisonWritten-By – B. White*
6 Roc Boys (And The Winner Is)...
Arranged By, Saxophone [Tenor] – Kenneth "Scooter" Whalum*Engineer [Assistant] – Matt Testa*Trombone – Saunders SermonsTrumpet – Cameron Johnson, Keyon HarroldVocals [Additional] – Beyoncé, Cassie (2), Kanye WestWritten-By – B. Mann*, D. Guy*, L. Michels*, M. Deller*, T. Brenneck*
7 Sweet
Engineer [Assistant] – Andy GeelVocals [Additional] – A.J. Walker, Carmen Cameron, Cassie (2)Written-By – R. Love*
8 I Know
Mixed By – Chad HugoProducer – The NeptunesRecorded By – Andrew Coleman (3)Recorded By [Additional] – Jordan "DJ Swivel" Young*Recorded By [Assistant] – Hart GuntherWritten-By – P. Williams*
9 Party Life
Engineer [Assistant] – Matt Testa*Mixed By [Assistant] – Anthony PalazzoleTrumpet – Keyon HarroldVocals – Shannon JonesWritten-By – D. Stone*, W. Hale*
10 Ignorant Sh*t
Featuring – Beanie SigelMixed By – Gimel "Young Guru" KeatonMixed By [Assistant] – Andrew Wright (2)Producer – Just BlazeRecorded By – Daren "DJ Poun" Smith*Written-By – C. Jasper*, D. Grant*, E. Isley*, J. Smith*, M. Isley*, O. Isley*, R. Isley*, R. Isley*
11 Say Hello
Backing Vocals – Rhonda RobinsonProducer – Toomp*Recorded By – Derrick Selby, Jordan "DJ Swivel" Young*Written-By – A. Davis*, T. Brocker*
12 Success
Backing Vocals – Juan "OG" Perez*Co-producer – Jermaine DupriFeaturing – NasProducer – No-ID*Written-By – E. Wilson*, L. Ellis*, N. Jones*
13 Fallin'
Backing Vocals – BilalCo-producer – No-ID*Mixed By – Jermaine Dupri, Phil TanMixed By [Assistant] – Josh HoughkirkProducer – Jermaine DupriWritten-By – J. Dupri*, T. Hester*
Bonus Tracks
14 Blue Magic
Producer – The NeptunesRecorded By – Andrew Coleman (3)Recorded By [Assistant] – Hart GuntherVocals [Additional] – Pharrell*Written-By – B. Kaun*, C. Herron*, D. Robinson*, D. Foster*, M. Jones*, P. Williams*, T. Ellis*, T. McElroy*
15 American Gangster
Cello – Eileen Moon, Jeanne LeblancDrums – StillphilMixed By – Gimel "Young Guru" KeatonMixed By [Assistant] – Andrew Wright (2)Piano [Additional] – Canei FinchProducer – Just BlazeRecorded By [Live Strings & Horns] – Ryan WestRecorded By [Music] – Andrew Wright (2)Recorded By [Vocals] – Gimel "Young Guru" KeatonSaxophone [Alto] – Andy SnitzerSaxophone [Tenor] – Charles PillowTrombone – Mike DavidTrumpet – Jeff KievitViola – Dawn Hannay, Sue PrayViolin – Liz Lim*, Jeanine Wynton, Lisa Kim, Matt Lehmann, Minyoung Chang, Sandra Park, Sarah O'Boyle, Sharon YamadaWritten-By – C. Mayfield*, J. Smith*

Companies, etc.



A semi-concept album inspired by the movie "American Gangster" (not the movie soundtrack). Sticker front states "Conceptual Body Of Genius Work."

"Intro", "No Hook", "Success" and "Blue Magic" contain excerpts from "American Gangster" courtesy of Universal Studios.

- Track 2 "Pray" contains a sample from "New Earth" by Hank Marvin.
- Track 3 "American Dreamin'" contains a sample of "Soon I'll Be Loving You Again" by Marvin Gaye.
- Track 4 "Hello Brooklyn 2.0" contains excerpts from "Hello Brooklyn" by The Beastie Boys.
- Track 5 "No Hook" contains a sample of "Love Serenade" by Barry White.
- Track 6 "Roc Boys (And The Winner Is)..." contains a sample of "Make the Road by Walking" by The Menahan Street Band.
- Track 7 "Sweet" contains a sample of "Does Your Mama Know" by Rudy Love & The Love Family.
- Track 9 "Party Life" contains a sample from "Get into the Party Life" by Little Beaver.
- Track 10 "Ignorant Sh*t" contains a sample of "Between the Sheets" by The Isley Brothers.
- Track 11 "Say Hello" contains a sample of "The Love We Share Is The Greatest Of Them All" by Tom Brock.
-Track 12 "Success" contains a sample of "Funky Thing Pt. 1" by Larry Ellis And The Black Hammer.
- Track 13 "Fallin'" contains samples from "Fell for You" by The Dramatics.
- Track 14 "Blue Magic" embodies portions of "Hold On" written by D. Foster, T. McElroy, T. Ellis, C. Herron, M. Jones and D. Robinson, and contains excerpts from the motion picture "Frankenstein", score by Bernard Kaun.
-Track 15 "American Gangster" contains samples from "Short Eyes" by Curtis Mayfield.

℗ & © Roc-A-Fella Records, LLC. /The Island Def Jam Group.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 6 02517 49989 8
  • Barcode (Scanned): 602517499898
  • Label Code: LC08427
  • Rights Society: BIEM/SABAM
  • Matrix / Runout: [UNIVERSAL Logo x4] 06025 174 998-9 01 * 52041428
  • Matrix / Runout (Mould Print): Made in Germany by EDC B
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LV26
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 0118

Other Versions (5 of 17) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
602517499898 Jay-Z American Gangster(CD, Album) Roc-A-Fella Records 602517499898 Europe 2007 Sell This Version
B0010229-02 Jay-Z American Gangster(CD, Album) Roc-A-Fella Records B0010229-02 US 2007 Sell This Version
602517499898 Jay-Z American Gangster(CD, Album) Roc-A-Fella Records 602517499898 Malaysia 2007 Sell This Version
460502601380 Jay-Z American Gangster(CD, Album) Roc-A-Fella Records 460502601380 Russia 2007 Sell This Version
B0010229-01 Jay-Z American Gangster(2xLP, Album) Roc-A-Fella Records B0010229-01 US 2007 Sell This Version