Jazz Juice (3) ‎– 52nd Street

Freestyle Records (2) ‎– FSR CD014
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Too Horny 3:26
2 Atravessar 6:17
3 Jody's Grind 4:51
4 Montuno Uno 5:17
5 Baiana 4:49
6 Canto De Ossanha 4:59
7 52nd Street (Minor Blues) 4:25
8 Sound Of The Summer 4:47
9 Bugablue (Dub Mix) 4:40
10 Love For Sale 7:08
11 Los Chicos 5:15
12 Hotpants Breakdown (Jazz Juice Remix)
Written-by [Original] – The Soul Toronados*
13 Borboleta (Jazz Juice Dub Mix)
Written-by [Original] – Electro Coco*


12. track and 13. track are bonus.

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
XTCK-00030 Jazz Juice (3) 52nd Street(CD, Album, Jap) X-Toys XTCK-00030 Japan Unknown Sell This Version



Add Review



January 5, 2012
edited over 6 years ago

The formation Jazz Juice, a collaboration between DJ Graham B and Alain Eskinasi, delivers bright and energetic nu jazz on 52nd Street. The positive vibe is immediately noticeable on "Too Horny", which features a lot of horn samples to evoke bossa nova feelings. It continues on the housey "Atravessar" (with the vocals of Tamara Maria) and "Sound of the Summer", incorporating outstanding instrumentation. This is also the case on "Baiana", which is one of my favourites. Many solos of trumpets, saxophones, keyboards and flutes are thrown in over smooth beats. "Jody's Grind" is a fantastic rework of Horaces Silver's classic, now with some fast breakbeats. The title track follows the same route (with Benjamin Herman on saxophone), while "Love for Sale" explores their sensual downtempo side. The bouncy "Montuno Uno" and "Bugablue" veer towards tasteful drum'n'bass, the latter featuring some excellent flute work from Praful. "Los Chicos" is another favourite of mine due to the delicious samba rhythm, the cool guitar and the beautiful breakdowns in the middle and the end of the track. To top it off, two fine bonus remixes are added, of which the athmospheric "Borboleta" is the most noteworthy one. Outstanding all the way.