Jazztronik ‎– Samurai

Pantone Music ‎– pancd001
CD, Album


1 Intro 1:02
2 Muddy Muddy 6:40
3 Samurai 8:35
4 Phoenix 6:25
5 Things We Like 6:21
6 Nana 8:00
7 Froro 6:22
8 Livin High 3:57
9 Colour Of Days 6:03
10 Arabesque 8:11
11 The Piano 3:48
12 Dance With Me (Dub) 9:16

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Scanned): 5024545333220
  • Matrix / Runout: KEY PANCD001
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI LP76

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
panlp001 Jazztronik Samurai(2x12", Album) Pantone Music panlp001 UK 2005 Sell This Version
pancd001 Jazztronik Samurai(CD, Album, Promo) Pantone Music pancd001 UK 2005 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



April 27, 2005
edited over 13 years ago

One of the greatest groups from Japan in recent years! The package pulls together tunes from the expensive import Set Free, plus other singles and assorted bits -- into one tasty 12 track set that offers up the Japanese Jazztronik groove at a price that's a lot more affordable for those of us on the lower end of the economic spectrum! Keyboardist Ryo Nozaki is at the helm of all tracks -- working beautifully in both acoustic and electric shades of tone -- and some tracks feature full arrangements with lots of jazzy instrumentation, while others kick back into a more atmospheric groove.


April 4, 2005
edited over 13 years ago

The expectations for the latest album from Japanese keyboard maestro Ryota Nozaki were raised when the title track made 15th spot in Gilles Peterson’s Worldwide 2004 all-winners. Surely this was fighting above weight for a track that appeared on a 12” on Brighton’s Disorient label? It may well have been but marvellously for us though, there are ten cutting edge killer tracks on this CD. Of the 78 minutes, for me there’s only 4 minutes 50 seconds that drop below top standard, ‘Intro’ (1.02) and ‘The Piano’ (3.48). So getting that small gripe out of the way, this is the best Jap jazz that I’ve heard for a very long time. You’ll find more unadulterated praise will follow this CD as Ryota’s sun rises in the West. Especially as there’s a European tour planned and Peterson last night slipping in a track from his next Japanese release!