Jean-Michel Jarre ‎– Révolutions

Disques Dreyfus ‎– 837 421-1
Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

Révolution Industrielle
A1a Ouverture
Engineer [Assistant] – Philippe CussetEngineer [Ingénieur Du Son] – Henri Loustau
A1b Partie 1 5:08
A1c Partie 2 2:18
A1d Partie 3 3:47
A2 London Kid
Guitar – Hank MarvinSynthesizer [Fairlight CMI] – Sylvain Durand
B1 Révolutions
Drum Programming, Percussion – Jean-Michel JarreEffects [Effets Spéciaux] – François Kervorkian*Engineer [Ingénieur Du Son] – Claude ErmelinNey – Kudsi ErgunerRecorded By [Chants Muezzin En Turquie] – Xavier BellengerVoice [Voix Ordinateur] – Jean-Michel Jarre, Michel Geiss
B2 Tokyo Kid
Drum Programming, Percussion – Jean-Michel JarreEngineer [Assistant] – Philippe CussetEngineer [Ingénieur Du Son] – Henri LoustauTrumpet, Voice [Megaphone] – Jun Miyake
B3 Computer Weekend 5:00
B4 September
Conductor [Choeurs De Jeunes Filles Du Mali] – Sori Bamba*Vocals [Chorus Vocal] – Mireille Pombo
B5 L'Emigrant 3:56

Companies, etc.


  • Art DirectionMark Fisher (5)
  • Backing Vocals [Choeurs]Bruno Rossignol (tracks: A1, A2, B5)
  • BassGuy Delacroix
  • Composed By, Producer, Synthesizer [Roland D-50, Fairlight CMI II, III, Synthex, AKS, Oscar], Vocoder [EMS], Drum Machine [Dynacord ADD I, Akai MPC-60], Performer [Cristal Baschet]Jean-Michel Jarre
  • Conductor [Direction Des Choeurs]Bruno Rossignol
  • Design4i Collaboration
  • Directed By [Direction Musicale Pour L'Enregistrement Des Choeurs]Sylvain Durand
  • Drums, Electronic Drums [Simmons SDX], Drum Machine [Dynacord ADD I]Jo Hammer*
  • Engineer [Son]Denis Vanzetto
  • Musical Assistance [Collaboration Artistique], Synthesizer [ARP 2600, Kawai K5], Sequenced By [Geiss Matrisequencer], Keyboards [Elka AMK 800, Cavagnolo Midy 20]Michel Geiss
  • Musical Assistance [Collaboration Artistique], Synthesizer [Emulator, Fairlight, Ensoniq ESQI, Roland D-50, Roland D550, Synthex, Oscar], Programmed By [Akai MPC-60]Dominique Perrier
  • Photography ByOliviero Toscani (2)
  • Programmed By [Programmation Additionnelle De Synthétiseurs]Francis Rimbert
  • Recorded By [Enregistrements Extérieurs], Research [Conseils En Musique Ethnique]Xavier Bellenger
  • Technician [Assistance Technique]Patrick Pelamourgues
  • Technician [Cristal Baschet Crée Par]Bernard Baschet, François Baschet


Very similar to this release but this one in a slightly different cover: top right corner is blue on front cover, and back cover is dark blue.

Ce disque est dedié à tous les enfants de la révolution : aux enfants de la révolution industrielle, à ceux des années soixante et des ordinateurs, aux enfants des émigrants et à ceux de Dulcie September.

B4: En souvenir de Dulcie September, une des nombreuses victimes sud-africaines dévouées à la lutte contre l'Apartheid, assassinée le 29 mars 1988 à Paris.

Il n'y aura jamais qu'une seule révolution - celle que les enfants portent dans leur tête.

Hank Marvin avec la permission spéciale de Polydor Ltd. (UK)
Synthèse vocale développée par Street Electronics, California
A1a, B2: mixages Studio Guillaume Tell, Paris
B1: mixage Studio Davout, Paris
Enregistré et mixé sur Studer A820 Dolby SR

Remerciements spéciaux :
Akai France: Bernard Ribet, Yvon Kerampran, Roger Linn, Hubert Gall, Apple Computer France, Dynacord, Elka: Piermaria, EMS: Ludwig Rehberg, Fairlight Australia, Harman France: Mr. Pierson, Hohner/Kawai, Lag France: Pierre Cathala, Michel Chavarria, Mega Studio, Music Land, Musikengro: Roland Delacroix, Soundtracs/Lazare, Studer France, Margarita Scheckel, Fiona de Montaignac, Paul Jarvis, Patrice Tison, Louisa Chelouti, Pierrette Jacquard, Edith Napias, Gérald Ano, Loïc de Montaignac, Paul Wiffen, Eric Cabedoce.

℗ 1988 Disques Dreyfus - Paris
© 1988 Disques Dreyfus - Paris

All credits and text are in French.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 42283 74211
  • Price Code: PY 281
  • Rights Society: SACEM SACD SGDL SDRM
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A): MPO 837 421-1 A1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B): MPO 837 421-2 B2

Other Versions (5 of 94) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
837 098-2 Jean-Michel Jarre Revolutions(CD, Album) Polydor 837 098-2 Brazil 1988 Sell This Version
837 421-4 Jean-Michel Jarre Revolutions(Cass, Album) Disques Dreyfus 837 421-4 France 1988 Sell This Version
837 098-2 Jean-Michel Jarre Revolutions(CD, Album, Unofficial) Polydor (2), Disques Dreyfus (2) 837 098-2 Russia Unknown Sell This Version
837 098-4 Jean-Michel Jarre Revolutions(Cass, Album) Polydor 837 098-4 Netherlands 1988 Sell This Version
CD 837 098-2, 837 098-2 Jean-Michel Jarre Revolutions(CD, Album) Polydor, Polydor, Disques Dreyfus, Disques Dreyfus CD 837 098-2, 837 098-2 Europe 1988 Sell This Version



Add Review



May 26, 2019
Certainly not Jean-Michel's strongest album, but still worth a listen.

The Révolution Industrielle suite is mind-blowing, Jarre at his absolute best.

Révolutions (the original '88 version, not the live recording featured on remasters) is still a striking piece of political statement, full of eastern melody / vocals backed with a throbbing western electronic beat.

Computer Weekend is cute, one of those quirky tracks Jarre would throw out there once in a while (think along the lines of Blah Blah Cafe or Band In The Rain). Insanely catchy!

Sadly, the rest of the album isn't quite as memorable...

Tokyo Kid is drenched in atmosphere, but ends up sounding like backing music to a 1988 crime drama movie.

September has what at first are adorable vocals, but they kinda get on your nerves after a few minutes. Then a big diva vocal comes in.

It's rather cloying, and oh so very late 80's.

L'émigrant is a dirge. You'll be lucky to survive the length without giving up.

Finally (and yes, I kept this for last), is London Kid.

It's basically The Shadows doing Jarre again (see The Shadows - Equinoxe (Part V)) but this time with big, wet late 80's snares. It's definitely catchy, but damn it sounds so twee.

So yeah, check out Révolution Industrielle on the a-side, then flip over to Révolutions.

You can live without the rest, to be honest.