Jessica Curry ‎– Dear Esther

Black Screen Records ‎– BSR012
2 × Vinyl, LP, 45 RPM, Album, 180g


A1 Dear Esther 1:13
A2 I Have Begun My Ascent 4:19
A3 Remember (Donnelly) 0:37
A4 Twenty One 2:52
A5 Golden Ratio 2:08
B1 Remember (Paul) 0:37
B2 On The Motorway 2:00
B3 Standing Stones 2:08
B4 Always (Hebridean Mix) 9:04
C1 The Bones Of Jakobson 3:42
C2 Remember (Jakobson) 0:48
C3 This Godforsaken Aerial 3:26
C4 Moon In My Palm 2:42
D1 Remember (Esther) 0:36
D2 Always (Sanford Mix) 7:15
D3 The Very Air 1:17
D4 Ascension 3:00

Companies, etc.



Track numbers are listed sequentially on the back cover.
This is the 180g general release.
Includes download code for the game "Dear Esther: Landmark Edition" on Steam.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Sticker): 4 059251 049685
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side A (Hand Etched)): BG60578-01 A1 KR BSR 012
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side B (Hand Etched)): BG60578-01 B1 KR BSR 012
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side C (Hand Etched)): BG60578-02 C1 KR BSR 012
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side D (Hand Etched)): BG60578-02 D1 KR BSR 012

Other Versions (4 of 4) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
BSR012 Jessica Curry Dear Esther(2xLP, Album, Ltd, Whi) Black Screen Records BSR012 Europe 2017 Sell This Version
BSR012 Jessica Curry Dear Esther(2xLP, Album, Ltd, Gol) Black Screen Records BSR012 UK & Europe 2017 Sell This Version
BSR012CD Jessica Curry Dear Esther(CD) Black Screen Records BSR012CD Europe 2017 Sell This Version
none Jessica Curry Dear Esther Official Soundtrack(17xFile, MP3, Album, VBR) Not On Label none US 2012



Add Review



April 13, 2017
edited 14 days ago

Firstly I have to say that the art is striking in this album. Fantastic artwork all around, its almost a shame there was no poster with it separate from the main sleeves. Although I guess you could replace one with your own sleeve in case you wanted it as a poster or painting on your wall. Secondly, the music hits all the right notes on this release and for me almost sounded like it was the first time hearing it again. Only being held back by an intervoling buzzing sound that occurs when the high notes strike the speakers. I made sure to check if my system was being faulty but it seemed to only happen on the last 2 songs of both side A and C strangely enough. Perhaps just a pressing mistake on my copy. Lastly, something I really loved is at the end when you can hear the Narrators voice say "Come back" just like the games ending. The only sad part being that there is a chipping noise every revolution at the point where he says it. Hopefully it will wear in with multiple plays but as it stands its a great package. I might even check out the Gold version which releases soon!

Update: Coming back with new listening ears and equipment I feel like I should adress some things. With current listening I definetaly feel like the press from Optimal in this case is quite sub optimal. The surface noise is low enough but there are constant crackles. There is not a longer peroid than maybe 5 seconds without a pop, at least on side A. I have not done any cleaning yet but before the next listen Ill be sure to do it because this is not something I recall. Perhaps the new cart reaches new groove areas or my older one damaged the grooves. Curiously its only a problem on side A though so I dont think thats the case. Either its a contamination problem of dirt or static or its a pressing issue.
As for the sound I think it still is really well made. It takes advantage of the 45RPM factor and gives just the right amount of dynamics.
I will also note that I no longer hear the buzzing noise on side A and C. I believe that to just be a problem with my original cart on this particular album, because I never heard it on any other.

Equipment used:
Rega RP1 with Rega Carbon cartridge
Cyrus 2 Amplifier
System Fidelity SF-3050 tower speakers
Custom made HQ speaker cables

Updated equipment:
Nagaoka MP-110 cartridge