Jim Lampi ‎– Greazy

Gila Records (5) ‎– 2002031
CD, Album


1 Surf & Turf 5:04
2 Coyote 6:03
3 Peggy 5:38
4 Bacon 6:09
5 Coffee Break 3:45
6 Simpático 5:00
7 Ernest 4:43
8 Old Ivory 6:06
9 Jack's 3:55
10 Vanishing Point II 3:55
11 Still Free 5:36

Companies, etc.


Gila Records (5) is a new entry in the Discogs database.

Taken from a review by Andy Long at globalbass.com

Jim told me that he was going for a 'trio' feel with this album and, through careful selection of musicians for each track, he has achieved that feel and built on it with the addition of some keyboards. Overall the sound is not too busy and not so flashy as to be distracting. 'Greazy' kicks straight into the smooth jazz flavour of 'Surf & Turf', a gorgeous groove that sets the tone beautifully for the whole album. This opener features Doug Melbourne's Hammond B3 and vocals by Marie Claire Dubaldo. Vocals, but no lyrics that is. 'Greazy' treats the human voice as a musical instrument and the tracks are more concerned with the sound of the individual vocalists than with lyrics. There is just one song on the album that has any lyrics, the final track 'Still Free', featuring the legendary John Martyn. John also popped in for a bit of free vocalisation on 'Peggy'. Jim is considered to be one of the finest exponents of the Chapman Stick and the sound he gets from his twelve-string model is certainly an inspiration to both students (like me) and masters of the instrument. The bass side has a crisp, bright tone which punches it's way neatly through and complements the crystal clarity of the melody side. 'Coffee Break' kicks off with a melancholy descending bass line, supported by chords in the melody side and then Jim switches it around and plays bass roots underneath that original line. At least I think that's how he does it? Jim can always find umpteen ways to play a line, all equally effective and impressive. Marie is back in the vocal booth for 'Simpatico'. She, Jim and the Stick all take the lead line together and the sound they create together is uniquely delightful. I could go on, each track has it's own appeal and, for me at least, there were no fillers. With 'Greazy' Jim Lampi has realised his finest work to date, a splendid album that I hope will bring him to a wider audience.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout: HGCD2484
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LP76