Jim Pembroke ‎– If The Rain Comes

TUM Records ‎– TUM-A CD 007
CD, Album


1 If The Rain Comes 4:57
2 Gone With The Song 4:34
Medley: Columbus In India/Love Is Easier
3 Columbus In India 5:19
4 Love Is Easier 3:07
5 Forever Kinda 3:18
6 The DNA Club 1:05
7 A Former Army 4:48
8 Doo-Wah 4:06
9 My Time Again 3:27
10 The Birds Of Summer 6:19
11 Midnight In Abbey Road 4:26

Companies, etc.



Recorded at LA-Audio Studios in Olathe, Kansas, the United States, in April 2012 and in March and April 2013.
Strings recorded in Karelia House in Tammisaari, Finland, in November 2012.
Horns and other additional instruments and additional background vocals recorded at DER in Tammisaari, Finland, from November 2012 to May 2013.
Mixed at Finnvox Studios in Helsinki, Finland in August and September 2013.
Mastered at Finnvox Studios in May 2014.

So long, my old friend, Otto. The guys in the band and I wish to dedicate this record to the memory of Henrik Otto Donner.

Use headphones - I do.


Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 6 430015 289079
  • Barcode (String): 6430015289079
  • Matrix / Runout: Sony DADC A0102336999-0101 15
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L555
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 94Z8
  • Rights Society: Teosto n©b



Add Review



February 21, 2015

Back in 1975, Richard Branson, or should I say Sir Richard Branson, founder of Virgin Records, did something very unusual. Branson, together with Virgin's original A&R genius, Simon Draper, joined forces with Finland’s Love Records, releasing then new albums by Wigwam and Pekka Pohjola on the then recently established U.K. based Virgin Records. Although Pekka Pohjola had been the bassist / composer in the early Wigwam, by 1975, the band mainly featured the music of Jim Pembroke and group guitarist Pekka Rechardt. Having recorded in England, Finland and Sweden, and now in his adopted homeland of America, Pembroke has released a number of albums to his credit, solo and with Wigwam and Blues Section, since leaving his native London in 1965 to move to Finland. Looking back 45 years, it's safe to say that Pembroke was a key figure at the dawn of the rock music scene in late 1960’s Finland. Although Wigwam continued making albums in the 1990’s and 2000’s, in fact Jim hasn’t made a solo album since 1981’s Party Upstairs—the CD of which this writer wrote liner notes for—so this new album is quite historical for his fans. In a geographical twist of fate, Jim has remained a resident of Missouri and more recently in the nearby state of Kansas for the past 20 years. Recorded in Olathe, Kansas, the 2014 CD release of If The Rain Comes reunites Jim with guitarist Jukka Orma, who has played with Jim since the late 1970s and was a key component of Party Upstairs. Also here is mid '70s period Wigwam keyboardist Pedro Hietanen, the jazz rhythm section of Ulf Krokfors (double bass) and Mika Kallio (drums), topped off by excellent studio production from legendary Love Records founder / producer / arranger Henrik Otto Donner, who tragically and unexpectedly passed away 3 months after the recording sessions. TUM has done a great job packaging If The Rain Comes with full lyrics, rare pics and tribute liner notes by Jim for Otto. A legend and a veteran of the progressive rock world, Jim Pembroke revives his legacy with a truly inspiring 21st century rock album.