Jimi Hendrix ‎– The Summer Of Love Sessions

Jungle Records ‎– FREUD 067
Vinyl, LP, Compilation


A1 Love (Instr.) 8:28
A2 Hush Now (Instr.) 5:12
A3 Gloomy Monday 3:32
A4 Happy Birthday 2:21
A5 Ballad Of Jimi 2:26
A6 Level (Instr.) 2:50
B1 Love Love 5:14
B2 Get That Feeling 5:18
B3 Future Trip 2:28
B4 No Business 3:17
B5 Odd Ball (Instr.) 3:02
B6 Flashing (Instr.) 3:44
B7 Day Tripper 3:17

Companies, etc.



This compilation Ⓟ © 2001 Jungle Records
Recorded On July 17th, 30th, 31st, And August 8th 1967 At Studio 76, Broadway, New York.
Jimi Plays Guitar On The First Seven Tracks, And Bass On The Others.

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All


Add Review



January 8, 2017
edited 11 months ago
Jimi Hendrix plays bass on this, but not just any bass. He plays an 8 string bass. That alone should justify checking out this set of raw, garage rock style, jams.
The genesis of this record is not 100% clear to me, but it sounds like pre production or guys stoned and jamming for fun. Sometimes this verges off into musicians finding a groove, especially on the 8 minute opener. But I really quite like that. There's loads of delay on the guitars and, in places the drums, that give this a really cool psych feel. A collection of hidden gems in the style of Purple Haze or Hey Joe this is not. However, that should not detract from what is a far out collection of songs. Plus Jimi plays and 8 string bass on this. An 8 string bass.