Jimi Hendrix With Soft Machine ‎– Southeby Reel With Soft Machine

CD, Unofficial Release

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Soft Machine Jam I 8:50
2 Castles Made Of Sand 2:58
3 Spanish Castle Magic 2:48
4 Instrumental Jam I 4:52
5 Have You Ever Been (To Electric Ladyland) (Instrumental) 5:06
6 Wait Until Tomorrow 3:28
7 Instrumental Jam II
Featuring – Brian Jones (5)
8 Instrumental Jam III
Featuring – Brian Jones (5)
9 One Rainy Wish 3:57
10 Soft Machine Jam II 3:45
11 Soft Machine Jam III 4:39
12 She's So Fine 2:43
13 Bold As Love 3:39
14 Belly Button Window 13:19
15 Instrumental Jam IV 6:24


Southeby Reel Outtakes 67-68

Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



December 3, 2010
The contribution of Soft Machine to this release is also generally disputed (see other post referring to Jimi Hendrix). It is not Hendrix, it is not Soft Machine, so who plays on this? Should this be listed as Soft Machine release at all?


June 28, 2008

Overall, this is a rather enjoyable and well-put together collection... if a bit misbegotten.

This album contains several mis titled tracks. The first song, labeled "Soft Machine Jam 1" is actually the song "Cryin' Jag". This isn't actually a jam, it's a finished set piece with vocals, planned and carefully executed organ and guitar solos, and a nice beat. This is a great track which ought to be released, but I have to tell you that the existence of Hendrix on it is in doubt. It has only the most passing of resemblances to Soft Machine - it's deep, but rather poppy at the same time. If I had to say anything more about it... it would be that this music seems too structured to be Soft Machine. It's also presented in poorer quality than on other releases.

Tracks 7 and 8 are two of four versions of "Pretty Little One", which are also available on other releases in better quality.

I'd recommend this album as a starter, but I'd look elsewhere for the same material in better quality.