Joanna Newsom ‎– Divers

Drag City ‎– DC561
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Anecdotes
Cello – Clarice JensenClarinet, Bass Clarinet – Hideaki AomoriDouble Bass – Logan CoaleEnglish Horn – James Austin SmithHarp, Piano, Synthesizer [Juno 106, Minimoog], Vocals – Joanna NewsomTrombone – David Nelson (2)Viola – Naidia Sirota*Violin – Ben Russell (4), Rob Moose
A2 Sapokanikan
Drums – Neal MorganGuitar, Bass Guitar, Bouzouki, Baglama – Ryan FrancesconiPiano, Celesta [Schiedmayer], Vocals – Joanna NewsomRecorder – Judith LinsenbergTrombone – Andy Strain
A3 Leaving The City
Drums – Peter NewsomHarp, Piano, Synthesizer [Mellotron M400], Vocals, Marxophone – Joanna Newsom
B1 Goose Eggs
Electric Guitar – Kevin BarkerElectric Piano [Wurlitzer, Neupert Clavichord, Fender Rhodes Piano, Fender Rhodes Piano Bass], Harpsichord [Baldwin Electric], Synthesizer [Baldwin Discoverer], Vocals – Joanna NewsomOrgan [Hammond B3] – Dan Cantrell
B2 Waltz Of The 101st Lightborne
Piano Accordion, Recorder [Andes Recorder-Keyboard] – Dan CantrellPiano, Organ [Estey Field Organ], Vocals – Joanna NewsomViolin – Matthew Szemela
B3 The Things I Say
Piano, Vocals – Joanna NewsomSaw [Musical Saw] – Dan Cantrell
C1 Divers
Harp, Piano, Synthesizer [Mellotron MK II], Vocals, Thumb Piano [Hohner Guitaret] – Joanna Newsom
C2 Same Old Man
Banjo – Kevin BarkerHarp, Synthesizer [Minimoog], Vocals – Joanna Newsom
C3 You Will Not Take My Heart Alive
Harp, Piano, Synthesizer [Mellotron M400, Juno 106], Vocals – Joanna Newsom
D1 A Pin-Light Bent
Harp, Vocals – Joanna Newsom
D2 Time, As a Symptom
Drums – Peter NewsomOrchestra – City Of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra*Piano, Vocals – Joanna Newsom

Companies, etc.



Released in a gatefold heavyweight cardboard cover with glossy front and rear, matte inner.
Packaging includes lyric sheets for each song and credits sheet: black print on white paper with color artwork on the other side, all in one black 12" envelope.

Joanna plays Lyon & Healy harps.
Neupert clavichord and Schiedmayer celesta provided by Kasimoff-Blüthner Piano Co., Hollywood.
Track D2 contains a sample of "Mourning Dove--Zenaida Macroura" recorded by William R. Fish. Used with permission from the Macaulay Library at the Cornell Lab of Ornithology.

(c)2015 Joanna Newsom, BMI
(c)&(p)2015 Drag City Incorporated

Durations not printed, from vinyl timing.
Mastering facility uncredited, identified with matrix.
"Mastered at" Record Technology Incorporated is for "Processed at". Identified with matrix numbers.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Stickered): 781484056119
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side A, etched, variant 1): DC-561-A 24194.1 (3)... BEFORE THE SUN IS GONE
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side B, etched, variant 1): DC-561-B 24194.2 (3)... IN TRAVELING LIGHT
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side C, etched, variant 1): DC-561-C 24194.3 (3)... THE CITY CONTINUES ON, ALONE
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side D, etched, variant 1): DC-561-D 24194.4 (3)... NIGHTJAR, TRANSMIT! (ONCE MORE, AND INNUMERABLE TIMES MORE)
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side A, etched, variant 2): DC-561-A 24194.1(3)... BEFORE THE SUN IS GONE
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side B, etched, variant 2): DC-561-B 24194.2(3)... IN TRAVELING LIGHT IN TRAVELING LIGHT
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side C, etched, variant 2): DC-561-C 24194.3(3)... THE CITY CONTINUES ON, ALONE
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side D, etched, variant 2): DC-561-D 24194.4(3)... THE CITY CONTINUES ON, ALONE
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout all sides, stamped, variant 1 & 2): GOLDEN
  • Rights Society: BMI

Other Versions (5 of 6) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
DC561 Joanna Newsom Divers(2xLP, Album, TP) Drag City DC561 US 2015 Sell This Version
DC561CD-P Joanna Newsom Divers(CD, Album, Promo) Drag City DC561CD-P UK, Europe & US 2015 Sell This Version
DC561CS Joanna Newsom Divers(Cass, Album) Drag City DC561CS US 2015 Sell This Version
DC561CD Joanna Newsom Divers(CD, Album) Drag City DC561CD UK, Europe & US 2015 Sell This Version
DC561CD Joanna Newsom Divers(11xFile, FLAC, Album) Drag City DC561CD 2015


Reviews Show All 5 Reviews

Add Review



September 14, 2017
If anyone is reading this for pressing quality, I would say I am VERY IMPRESSED by the pressing + recording quality! High five to everyone involved but first and foremost Joanna. Best album of 2015.


August 3, 2016

This album has grown on me so much during the last year. I have always been a fan of her but for me it is kind of a struggle to get into each new album, most likely because of their epic proportions and their complexity. Divers is an absolute joy and I love the subtle innovations in the sound design, with just little pinches of Synthesizer or Reverb used to great effect. For me, the stand outs are opener Anecdotes, the brief but beautiful The Things I Say and the absolutely sublime and lyrically gripping title track.

The vinyl is a bit on the quiet side and you really have to crank it up which, unfortunately, also makes the surface noise more noticable. The gatefold and included artwork envelope however are great to go through and the mysterious cover artwork in all its glossy glory is something I take from my shelf almost every time I go through my collection.


May 11, 2016
edited over 2 years ago

Very mixed feelings on this one. After hearing 'Sapokanikan' I was incredibly excited for this release. I still feel that it is one of the (if not THE) best songs of 2015. The album as a whole didn't really capture me though sadly. There are some great songs but I felt mostly like I was grasping for something to hold on to.

A good chunk of the tracks have the same cyclic structure which can become tedious and repetitive. Sometimes individual elements or flourishes don't have as big an impact as I think Newsom intends as they kind of blend in and don't pop out that much. This obviously isn't the case all the way through; you have some quint synths in 'You Will Not Take My Heart Alive' which add a really surreal feel to the song as well as the sharp highs on the harp in 'A Pin-Light Bent'.


For the records themselves, they're rather thin and not presented in poly sleeves which I find a shame. The pressing quality is good although there is noticeable surface noise throughout, no big pops but just a gentle fuzz underneath everything; again this isn't a deal breaker but to me it's a bit of a shame.

The album is split across four sides and each of the tracks gets it's own thin glossy insert with a painting on one side and the credits on the reverse. Each of these prints is sized differently to match the ratio of the paintings but it just makes it all feel a little disjointed. Would have much rather had a traditional 12" booklet rather than have to faff about with a bunch of small bits of paper. Something like the booklets included with Scott Walker's 'The Drift' or Stevie Wonder's 'Songs in the Key...' would have been much nicer.


October 27, 2015
edited over 3 years ago
The vinyl sleeve is gatefold, and very thick. The outside is very glossy, and is kind of textured. Inside the gatefold is matte and textured, but different from the outside. The two records aren't 180g, but sound great and have lyrics etched in all the runout grooves. They come in plain black sleeves with holes in the middle. There's also another record-sized sleeve with art prints for all the song lyrics and credits, and they all vary in size and have different photos. However the first record is a tiny bit warped, I believe it may be from the lyric cards being shoved in the sleeve.


October 26, 2015
10/10 packaging and presentation. Beautiful artwork on the front and back covers, gatefold, double sided poster and the many inserts.