Joanna Newsom ‎– The Milk-Eyed Mender

Drag City ‎– DC263
Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Bridges And Balloons 3:37
A2 Sprout And The Bean 4:30
A3 The Book Of Right-on 4:27
A4 Sadie 5:57
A5 Inflammatory Writ 2:48
A6 This Side Of The Blue
Guitar – Noah Georgeson, Esq*
B7 "En Gallop" 5:04
B8 Cassiopeia 3:14
B9 Peach, Plum, Pear 3:31
B10 Swansea 5:00
B11 Three Little Babes
Vocals [Sang] – Noah Georgeson, Esq*Written-By – Trad.*
B12 Clam, Crab, Cockle, Cowrie 4:16

Companies, etc.


  • Design [Front & Back Cover Were Designed And Embroidered By]Emily Prince
  • Harp [Lyon & Healy Style 15 Harp], Electric Piano [Wurlitzer Electric Piano], Harpsichord, PianoJoanna Newsom
  • Photography By [Took The Photographs]Alissa Anderson
  • Recorded By, Producer [Produced By]Noah Georgeson, Esq*
  • Written-By [Songs Written By]Joanna Newsom (tracks: A1 to B10, B12)


All songs © & ℗ 2004 Joanna Newsom
© & ℗ 2004 Drag City

Includes LP-sized lyrics sheet.

Tracks listed sequentially on release (from 1 to 12).
The record sides marked on labels with numerals (Side 1 and Side 2).
Barcode sticker over shrink-wrap.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Sticker, As printed): 7 81484 02631 0
  • Barcode (Sticker, String): 781484026310
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout etching, Side 1): DC-263-A 10815.1(3)...
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout etching, Side 2): DC-263-B 10815.2(3)...
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout stamped, Side 1 & 2): SAE MASTERING

Other Versions (5 of 5) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
DC263CD Joanna Newsom The Milk-Eyed Mender(CD, Album) Drag City DC263CD US 2004 Sell This Version
URA129 Joanna Newsom The Milk-Eyed Mender(CD, Album) Spunk URA129 Australia 2004 Sell This Version
DC263C Joanna Newsom The Milk-Eyed Mender(Cass, Album) Drag City DC263C US 2018 Sell This Version
PCD-23504 Joanna Newsom The Milk-Eyed Mender(CD, Album) P-Vine Records PCD-23504 Japan 2004 Sell This Version
DC263CD Joanna Newsom The Milk-Eyed Mender(CD, Album, Promo) Drag City DC263CD US 2004 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 8 Reviews

Add Review



October 24, 2017
Purchased new from amazon recently. Excellent quiet pressing. Great dynamics. Highly recommended. My copy is flat with no warp.


February 28, 2016

I'm on my third copy of this, first one was so warped I could've used it as a fruit bowl!! Second copy warped but not as bad as first, third copy has very minor warping but plays fine.


December 4, 2015
Back in-stock on Drag City's site for $16. Don't overpay!


November 1, 2015
what the the fucking hell happened? Why is this record $45 plus now. It was $25 tops a few months ago yet it has been out of print for a while. Fucking unbelievably stupid.


September 25, 2014
if anyone could upload a high-res scan of the lyric insert i'd be grateful. my record came without it and i'd like to print it.


May 22, 2007
edited over 11 years ago
This album garnered much attention in the UK after arguably the best, or should that be most sweet, track from it, "This Side Of The Blue", was featured in an award-wining advertising campaign from ad-agency Mother for mobile phone operator Orange, which ran from mid-2006 into the beginning of 2007, starting in cinemas, then due to it's presumed success, continued onto TV.
In cinemas, it usually ran just before the film was due to start, as it had the rather strange tagline for a mobile phone company, 'sometimes things need to switch off, for people to switch on ...good things can happen when your phone's off' ?! (...surely the opposite to what any mobile phone company would want you to actually do to your phone, me thinks).
The content of the advert featured a fictional story of an account of what had happened during the New York City blackout that really did occurred in the city on the afternoon of Thursday 14 August 2003.

Joanna Newsom, a former member of San Francisco group The Pleased, releases here a debut solo record that effortlessly blends the genres of pop and folk together using her trademark instrument the harp, as well as her rather interesting voice, as it's centre. The excellent single, "Sprout And The Bean", is also included on the release.

You'll either like what you hear here, or you'll despise it outright. Me, I happen to like it, as it has something original to add to a commercial music world one often feels is overrun with blandness and conservatism. Just try before you buy with this one, that's all I advise.